PSA: Maxxis Shorty Tire - Often Overlooked but Totally Awesome.

It may come as a surprise to some people that Maxxis makes other tires besides the Minion DHF and that some of these tires don't suck. It did to me, I've been running DHF's for about 10 years.

I just started running a 26x2.5" WT Shorty 3C MaxxTerra TR/EXO front tire for spring season, combined with a 26x2.4" WT DHR2 3C MaxxTerra TR/EXO in the rear. Brand new Flow MK3 / Hadley wheelset too. Last year I ran 2.3 Minion DHF TR/EXO's, 3c front and DC rear, on 25mm internal rims, and will likely run a DHF/Aggressor combo on the Flow's in the summer.

The 26x2.5" shorty is huge, it's based on maxxis's new sizing standards. The width of the flow makes it even bigger. Was running about 22 / 26 psi. Compared to my normal DHF and previous rims, the new setup is only about 100g or so heaver per rim+tire, but far beefier. The shorty was right at it's claimed weight of 925g on my scale, only 50g heavier than my DHF 3C. Flows were about 460g, or 30-40g heavier per rim than my previous WTB KOM i25. Hubs are fractionally heavier and spokes/nipples were the same.

The shorty is supposed to be like a cut down mud spike, so it has relatively small, tall tread blocks with wide spacing. It also has the excellent MaxxTerra compound which is sticky but still has decent durability and rolling resistance. The tread pattern is very similar to the Schwable Magic Mary.