Non-gigantic GPS watch - anything out there?

I've been skiing with a Suunto Ambit 2 for a couple of years. It bothers me at time by digging into my wrist if I don't loosen the strap and wear stuff with tight fitting cuffs. I can live with that but the other day I had my GF try it on as she's thinking about getting one; she looked like Flavor Flav had decided to wear his clock on his wrist... I doubt she could even fit a glove over it.
    Does anyone have any recommendations for normal-sized options, preferably under the million $$ these things tend to cost? I get that the sensors are big and all but there's gotta be some smaller GPS watches out there. Running watches are cool but few seem to track vertical progress which is her main interest, it's all about mileage. The phone option isn't great as it needs to come in and out of a pocket 100 times per tour. I've tried tying the watch to her pack strap but battery life decreased significantly in the cold.

How long do you want it to function for? I use a vivoactiv which is small and thin, but battery life is pretty poor. It is rated at 10 hours GPS/30 hours normal, mine seems to have decreased significantly to ~3 hours GPS.

Quote Originally Posted by sethschmautz View Post
    How long do you want it to function for? I use a vivoactiv which is small and thin, but battery life is pretty poor. It is rated at 10 hours GPS/30 hours normal, mine seems to have decreased significantly to ~3 hours GPS.
    That's another issue I haven't thought about. I guess for an average tour length of more than 4 hours it wouldn't be the best option...

I haven't actually pushed my watch to failure, but it seems like the battery life is getting worse. Otherwise, it has been a good watch and I've used it for tours, rides, etc. I've just recently started having concerns.