Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Garmin, Suunto or?

Hi,

I'm a certified tech geek. I live and work in an IT tech buble when I'm not skiing and of course I love data and metrics as much as all computer programmers do. Now, I was out skitouring two days ago, and one of my buddies asked me how many vertical meters we had been going. I could ballpark that within 50 meters going from the memory of the map, but it bothers me that I didn't know _excatly_ how many.

So, I'm thinking one of those smart watches look more and more interesting. But what works good for skiing? I have been looking at the upcomming Garmin Fenix 5 and Suunto Spartan Ultra. I do want it to track my skied vertical meters in the resort. The meters climbed and skied down when skitouring, estimated calories, heart rate, barometer etc.

Any advice?

Edit: Anyone with a Fenix three, who can say a few words about how it works for tracking backcountry missions?
    Last edited by LiveLarger; 03-13-2017 at 05:16 AM.

Lezyne micro gps.

suunto ambit3 peak

Quote Originally Posted by turbomike15 View Post
    suunto ambit3 peak
    Ditto. I wish it had the pretty colors, but battery life is way more important to me.
    Quote Originally Posted by Ernest_Hemingway View Post
    I realize there is not much hope for a bullfighting forum. I understand that most of you would prefer to discuss the ingredients of jacket fabrics than the ingredients of a brave man. I know nothing of the former. But the latter is made of courage, and skill, and grace in the presence of the possibility of death. If someone could make a jacket of those three things it would no doubt be the most popular and prized item in all of your closets.

I've loved my garmin fenix 1 for years. Pretty cheap on eBay. $75 or so.

My Garmin Fenix (2? 3?) was buggy for a long time. Hasn't crashed in a while, but it sure pissed me off a few times. I'll try Suunto next time.

No experience with newer ones but my fenix 2 is a POS.