Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Good luck renting a car with snow tires in Canada

Lee Lau - xxx-er is the laziest Asian canuck I know

Ya its pretty crazy really. I drive 93 from Jasper to Lake Louise a few times a winter and you see terrified tourists in rental cars way way over their heads out there with low clearance cars with no snow tires. Tow companies do well.

So....having never driven the road from Calgary to Banff to Golden...how important is AWD? Late March drive time.

I have no (NONE) knowledge about Canada (I'm from down south), chain controls, restrictions, passes on that road, elevation gain, etc etc etc.

Figured we'd rent a mini-van and bring the chains just in case,...

If the Trans-Canada isn't in good enough condition for you to drive without chains I would strongly recommend you don't drive on it. Driving a chained up vehicle slowly when some heavy transports and super duty pickups are NOT chained up is a recipe for a VERY nasty accident. Better to wait until the storm is over and the road is cleared.

Quote Originally Posted by XXX-er View Post
    ripbum and smidders national rentals all sport snow tires....no studs though and worn down to the wear indicators lol. Ipikes with about 2/32 tread left on the car I just rented.

yeah but yer in the narth west whereas most of the people coming to in BC are going to fly into cow town rent a car and head to one of the hills in SW BC or into a hut and this CBC artical was talking specificaly about Alberta car rental agencies

Related story, ya'll raise some hearty folk up there eh?
    If you can't drive on some ice or wrassle a cougar stay the fuck out.
    http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/edmont...-dog-1.3914210

Having rented many cars there (and the US) you are lucky if they even put anything but straight water in the windscreen washers.
    Quote Originally Posted by b dubya View Post
    Tricks are for hookers