Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Bend, OR vs Provo, UT vs Orange County, CA

I am a engineer that recently got laid off. I live in Newport Beach CA, previously I lived in Eden and Worked in Ogden UT. I got transferred to CA.

Theres a lot of stuff to do in CA, people are friendly/ outgoing/ open. I can MTB year round and ski at Big Bear.

However, CA is congested and hot (anything above 70F is hot for me), not really into board sports.

Im looking for a job where I have a good work/ life balance. When I moved to UT for a job and lived in Eden, I envisioned going skiing/ biking every weekend. Reality is that I never skied or biked when I lived there and I was at work all the time on call.

Im having a tough time picking a job:

Option 1: Provo UT

Pros: Im stoked on the job, nearby Alta and Sundance, not hot year round, not congested, good MTB.
    Cons: Im not LDS, people not outgoing/ friendly, have bad memories of working in Ogden, UT.

Option 2: Bend OR

Pros: Mt. Bachelor, people somewhat friendly/ outgoing (not as much as CA though), not congested/ hot, small town.
    Cons: Not a lot of engineering jobs in the area and would likely have to move if I lost the job. Pays $15k less then Provo UT per year.

Option 3: Stay in CA

Pros: People friendly/ outgoing, lots to do.
    Cons: Housing expensive, congested, HOT

If I wasn't so scared about job security, I would pick Bend. I really like the Provo job.

Thanks for any help.

If you had a bad time in Ogden then Provo will blow your mind.

If Ogden bummed you out, Provo might not be a good fit. Still you could try it for a yr or two and move if not. What kind of engineering? How old are you? Young Mormons can a dating issue (marriage fever) but after their first divorce it's game on.

I live in Utah and you would have to pay me A LOT to live in provo. Fuck that place. + you are closer to the desert...
    sigless.

Anything above 70F is hot for you? Shit, you will die in Bend.

Have you considered Shermer, IL?