Removing Sun Cure - Better Ding Repair

I used some fiberfill sun cure for 3 quarter size dings on a newer board, just so I could get back out on the water later that day.

Repairs look and feel terrible. What is the best way to remove the sun cure? What is the best kit/product for a real repair? Board is glossy, is it possible to get that gloss back after repair?

Thanks.
    Best Skier on the Mountain
    Self-Certified
    1992 - 2012
    Squaw Valley, USA

I'm by no means a pro and have only fixed 2 boards, but if it was a ding and indented I cut out the damaged material, filled with marine epoxy putty then glassed over the putty. Making sure to sand down the area surrounding the repair. I applied two circular fiberglass patches, one slightly larger on top of the one covering the ding. This is so that that repair can be tapered by sanding it after the repair cures. After sanding I masked off the board except for the repair area and repainted then clearcoat on top. Lots of light coats work best. If it's a crack then sand down along the crack and apply a fiberglass patch, following the same steps above.

Definitely can tell the board has been repaired, but wouldn't be able to tell from far away. Tons of youtube videos on surfboard repair that will give you a better idea than the text above. Good luck!

Use dremel to grind out SunCure.

Mix resin and Q-cell (ground foam) to fill hole. Sand down to shape. Glass and resin with laminate ing resin. After semi-cure, brush on sandig resin. Sand to finish.

If you feel a need to have a gloss finish, heat sand heat sandin resin in old microwave. Or you can is a thinner like styrene. Use fine brush to finish gloss coat.

Foam will get pulled out with the repairs.

^^^^not if you grind out the repair. You don't want to pull anything out. Small dremel grind tip will do wonders.