Relocating to Portland, OR - Probably should find a job

I am currently in the process of relocating to Portland, OR and am hoping some mags can help me secure a job before I run out of savings. I will be arriving in mid to late January.

Currently, I work at a small investment bank in NYC; my job is mainly concerned with the creation of operating and valuation models as well as marketing our deals to potential investors.

Very much open to the actual job but would prefer something in a financial capacity within an outdoor's related company; corporate development, FP&A, strategic planning, etc . Also, I have a lot of experience providing financial and fund raising advice to start-ups, which is another area I am interested in.

If anyone knows of anything that I might be a good fit for or could recommend a good recruiter, it would be much appreciated. Perhaps I’ll buy you a beer or two for your help.

Kied is offline Inconsiderate Tree Killer
    Good luck, man. While SF is notorious for no housing options, PDX is notorious for no jobs and it's not getting any easier. The growth in this town has been insane over the last few years - lots of people moving here, not enough jobs to go around. That said, if you want to get into the outdoor side, try hitting up some of the big local employers... Nike, Adidas, Columbia, Icebreaker, DaKine etc... Otherwise, you could try the banks. There are a bunch headquartered here.

I'd definitely secure something before you make the commitment to move.

Thanks man, I've already reached out to the big players but didn't know Dakine and Icebreaker where there as well. Thanks for the heads up.

Quote Originally Posted by IceCoast070 View Post
    Thanks man, I've already reached out to the big players but didn't know Dakine and Icebreaker where there as well. Thanks for the heads up.
    You're welcome. Oh, and just a head's up... DaKine is out in Hood River, about an hour from downtown.

Quote Originally Posted by Kied View Post