Check Out Our Shop
Page 390 of 395 FirstFirst ... 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 LastLast
Results 9,726 to 9,750 of 9852
  1. #9726
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    2,997
    I need to cap a 1.4" pvc pipe. There is only a 1" option which is IRL 1.3" wide, and a 1 1/4" option that is IRL 1.6". Besides the bat shit naming/numbering system for PVC - wtf is going on? How do I have a pipe that is not industry standard? Any advice?

  2. #9727
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    livin the dream
    Posts
    5,917
    Use a fernco cap?


    Sent from my iPhone using TGR Forums
    Best Skier on the Mountain
    Self-Certified
    1992 - 2012
    Squaw Valley, USA

  3. #9728
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Down on Electric Avenue
    Posts
    4,584
    Quote Originally Posted by muted reborn View Post
    I need to cap a 1.4" pvc pipe. There is only a 1" option which is IRL 1.3" wide, and a 1 1/4" option that is IRL 1.6". Besides the bat shit naming/numbering system for PVC - wtf is going on? How do I have a pipe that is not industry standard? Any advice?

    JB weld and some Aqua seal. Yer home free.

  4. #9729
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    9,024
    Pipe is generally sized by nominal ID, sounds like you or measuring the OD.

    What is is servicing? It doesn't sound like schedule 40 or 80? Is it stamped? Is it sprinkler line?

    It might be 1 1/4 Schedule 200

  5. #9730
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    On a genuine ol' fashioned authentic steam powered aereoplane
    Posts
    16,957
    Water heater issue: My GFs rental has a 4 year old 37 gal water heater. We lived in the unit last year and never had issues with not enough water. We also never used the big master tub. Just showers. Tenant who has been in there since last Fall called a month ago and said, "No hot water" but we coached her to find the breaker and it had tripped. She reset it and it has worked ever since. Now she is saying "It doesn't work right......I do laundy in the AM and 3 or 4 hours later there isn't enough hot water to fill the tub." The washer is relavtively new and HE and heats it's own water? (we always washed on cool or maybe warm....never hot) and the water heater should fully replenish in 3 or 4 hours anyway.

    We're thinking the tank is just too small for their needs. Filling the huge tub....which is probably 75 gallons would never work with full hot water. Is it possible though that it being scaled up (hard water) has diminished it's performance in just 4 years from brand new?

    Will me doing a complete drain and simple flush of the unit make much difference? We bought the place like 14 months ago and don't know if the previous owner did any maintenance to the water heater.

    I grew up on hard water and never remember hearing around the heater tanks scaling up that quickly. I think a tankless is in the future because there isn't a really good place to put a full size 80gal tank in the unit.

  6. #9731
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    livin the dream
    Posts
    5,917
    Sounds to me like you have a tenant issue not a water heater issue…

    Just double check the tank is sized adequately for the property - if it is. End of conversation.

    If the tank popping the breaker is a common occurrence - that’s actually concerning…


    Sent from my iPhone using TGR Forums
    Best Skier on the Mountain
    Self-Certified
    1992 - 2012
    Squaw Valley, USA

  7. #9732
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    59715
    Posts
    7,602

  8. #9733
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    On a genuine ol' fashioned authentic steam powered aereoplane
    Posts
    16,957
    Quote Originally Posted by I Skied Bandini Mountain View Post
    Small 37gal heater with only one element. I would assume that if the element was bad there would be no hot water. Tenant gets hot water, but not enough for her liking. Couple with very pregnant wife and I'm guessing she's uncomfortable and taking lots of baths, etc and there just isn't enough hot water for her use.

  9. #9734
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    9,024
    Super common. The water heater is simply just not big enough. All you can do in the short term is turn up the water temp so that cold is mixed in to fill the tub. Assuming size is an issue because it's a condo, tankless is probably the best option.

  10. #9735
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    SLC, Utah
    Posts
    4,381
    alright mags me and stbmrstgapp found a used freestanding fireplace that we absolutely love. We have a chimney installed with an 8" flue where we want it - we will have to likely figure out some 45° elbows to make it work - what else do we need to know to install a fireplace? Does the flue from the fireplace have to be the same size as our chimney or can we use a reducer?

    Sent from my Pixel 8 Pro using Tapatalk

  11. #9736
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    SF & the Ho
    Posts
    9,709
    Is it a stove or a simple fireplace? I seem to recall stoves need flue modifications for the higher heat output? I’m sure someone here knows the deal

    How about a pic?

  12. #9737
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Your Mom's House
    Posts
    8,342
    Quote Originally Posted by muted reborn View Post
    I need to cap a 1.4" pvc pipe. There is only a 1" option which is IRL 1.3" wide, and a 1 1/4" option that is IRL 1.6". Besides the bat shit naming/numbering system for PVC - wtf is going on? How do I have a pipe that is not industry standard? Any advice?
    Pipe is weird, as Foggy says it is measured (roughly) off the ID at Schedule 40. However the OD of pipe remains constant and the wall thickness changes for different schedules thus changing the ID....

    Anyway 1" pipe is OD 1.315" and 1-1/4" is 1.660" OD. For a cap you don't care about ID cuz the cap slips over the OD so it doesn't really matter if it's SCH40 or SCH80. Even metric pipe pretty much follows the same sizing - ODs of either 32mm (1.260") or 40mm (1.575").

    Most likely you have 1" pipe and you're either not measuring super accurately or the pipe is a bit out of tolerance. Buy a 1" cap, sand the OD of the pipe and/or ID of the cap if needed, and glue that bitch on.

  13. #9738
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    2,997
    Thanks but I know how to measure things, it's not hard. It has an orange stripe for cables, instead of a water line. Those may have different widths, either way the pipe is about 1.4 and I need to cap it. I tried a fernco cap that Nick recommended, and turned on the water. As I was walking to the capped pipe on the other side of the house I heard a 'phoooommmm!!!" which was the cap going into orbit. Because the pipe is pointing straight up - used to have a faucet on top of it before it broke off. I was bummed i had to buy a 2 pack of these caps at first - now I wasn't. First one could be anywhere in a two block radius. I prepped the pipe better, cranked the living hell on the 2nd fernco cap, and set up the backyard cam so I could see where the 2nd cap lands if it goes sky high again.

    I turned on the water and looked at my phone to see this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_9193.jpg 
Views:	88 
Size:	405.1 KB 
ID:	494509

    Fuckin' dog! The cap held though, it looks like it's under a lot of pressure so it's a good temp fix to get the sprinkler system going and test the heads (dog chewed through two sprinkler heads last fall) until I cap it proper. I didn't kill anyone, so that's a win for me when fixing things.

  14. #9739
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    inpdx
    Posts
    20,480
    ha ha

  15. #9740
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    livin the dream
    Posts
    5,917
    Apologies for suggesting the fernco - it’s not for pressure pipe…. I didn’t know what you were capping. Find an appropriate cap.


    Sent from my iPhone using TGR Forums
    Best Skier on the Mountain
    Self-Certified
    1992 - 2012
    Squaw Valley, USA

  16. #9741
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    livin the dream
    Posts
    5,917
    Quote Originally Posted by tgapp View Post
    alright mags me and stbmrstgapp found a used freestanding fireplace that we absolutely love. We have a chimney installed with an 8" flue where we want it - we will have to likely figure out some 45° elbows to make it work - what else do we need to know to install a fireplace? Does the flue from the fireplace have to be the same size as our chimney or can we use a reducer?

    Sent from my Pixel 8 Pro using Tapatalk
    Get a pro involved. You don’t want to fuck this up.


    Sent from my iPhone using TGR Forums
    Best Skier on the Mountain
    Self-Certified
    1992 - 2012
    Squaw Valley, USA

  17. #9742
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Dystopia
    Posts
    21,586
    Hah. The fernco dog story was entertaining. Yeah they aren’t taking pressure.

    As suggested maybe grinding it down enough to get the smaller cap with solvent might work. Oddball pipe probably from a job site for electrical work.
    I’ve just decided to be a middle aged somewhat depressed somewhat anxious fucktard until the end.

  18. #9743
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4,109
    Quote Originally Posted by muted reborn View Post
    Thanks but I know how to measure things, it's not hard. It has an orange stripe for cables, instead of a water line. Those may have different widths, either way the pipe is about 1.4 and I need to cap it. I tried a fernco cap that Nick recommended, and turned on the water. As I was walking to the capped pipe on the other side of the house I heard a 'phoooommmm!!!" which was the cap going into orbit. Because the pipe is pointing straight up - used to have a faucet on top of it before it broke off. I was bummed i had to buy a 2 pack of these caps at first - now I wasn't. First one could be anywhere in a two block radius. I prepped the pipe better, cranked the living hell on the 2nd fernco cap, and set up the backyard cam so I could see where the 2nd cap lands if it goes sky high again.

    I turned on the water and looked at my phone to see this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_9193.jpg 
Views:	88 
Size:	405.1 KB 
ID:	494509

    Fuckin' dog! The cap held though, it looks like it's under a lot of pressure so it's a good temp fix to get the sprinkler system going and test the heads (dog chewed through two sprinkler heads last fall) until I cap it proper. I didn't kill anyone, so that's a win for me when fixing things.

    Gonna need more glue, and then wrap that fucker up with a half a roll of gorilla tape the same way you would tape an ankle (stirrups, figure 8s, etc. just look it up). I guarantee it'll hold permanently.

  19. #9744
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    On a genuine ol' fashioned authentic steam powered aereoplane
    Posts
    16,957
    Ok so the prarie dogs/gophers have really gotten a good foothold in our meadow. I shot just a few early in the spring with a pellet gun. Very ineffective. Now there are 50? 100? I can't even really tell. I've got 12 and 20 ga small game shot. Am I wasting my time if I sit out there in a blind and try to shoot maybe 10 a day? Don't they just breed more when the population gets hit? I'm not farming out there. Were letting most of it go wild and planted some wildflower seeds. Is there any real reason to try to control them? I don't want to mess with putting poison pellets in their holes because we have two dogs. If a dog eats a poisoned gopher it's game over, right?

  20. #9745
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6,459
    If a bird of prey eats a poison rodent it's game over.

  21. #9746
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Dystopia
    Posts
    21,586
    If you kill all the golfers they’re going to lock you up and throw away the key

    I’ve just decided to be a middle aged somewhat depressed somewhat anxious fucktard until the end.

  22. #9747
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    2,357
    I'm not sure you can claim Montana if you don't at least know someone who loves drinking beer and plucking gophers with a .22.(I know you don't drink). Ime it helps cut down population but you can't eliminate them. In my younger years I had a friends dad in the northern bridger foothills that would buy us a few 30 racks and we'd camp out in the field for the weekend drinking beer and shooting gophers. He had a horse break a leg in a gopher hole and had a caddyshack level hatred for the fuckers. My old husky unfortunately learned to associate a .22 pop with a free meal...

    But if you're not doing anything with the property but letting it go back to nature I wouldn't give a fuck.

    Sent from my SM-S236DL using Tapatalk

  23. #9748
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Shuswap Highlands
    Posts
    4,401

    Home Remodel: Do, Don'ts, Advice

    Invite the ‘yotes back over for a party

    Maybe buy a pair of ferrets.

    I’ve heard percussion rounds in the 12guage shot into the hole has some effect.

    We used to get $0.25 a tail from the neighbour when we needed to escape the home farm chores. .222 and 4X scope from the barn loft. Barely put a dent in the numbers though.

  24. #9749
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2,488
    You need some gopher gasser my friend.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Image1718247167.212332.jpg 
Views:	98 
Size:	331.4 KB 
ID:	494937


    Sent from my iPhone using TGR Forums

  25. #9750
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3,098

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •