Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Unofficial 2013 Avi Air Bag Pack thread

Im back bitches!!
    After a long hiatus from the boards Im back.
    To celebrate this momentous occasion I think I'll move to Jackson for the winter.

Despite being a 26yo engineer, my parents have decided that I MUST HAVE an airbag pack now. They are throwing in some cash for a balloon pack.
    I will use this for day tours, trips up the pass, lapping the village slackcountry and other typical Jackson activities.
    Ive been searching around for reviews of the newer packs, and they seem to be all over the place. I want to shove the typical stuff in this thing, skins, shovel, probe, layer or 2, bivvy, food, water ect. I dont have any plans for overnight+ trips. I like diagonal ski carry, room for a helmet inside would be awesome, but I can deal with either having one outside or just wearing a beanie (less desirable than protection).

Ive got my eye on the BCA float 32 due to its good reviews on BC, im not stoked the canister is another $175 on top... Here's your new car, by the way, the keys cost extra...

Any thoughts?
    Live

Check out the Mystery Ranch BlackJack.
    Pricey, but it's supposed to be tits.
    Even though heavier than its's competitors, it is supposed to quite a bit more comfortable (and the 42l size compresses well).
    In search of the elusive artic powder weasel ...

I have a Blackjack and it's great. That said, I will sell it and pick up a battery operated model as soon as one is proven reliable. I've read that Arc'teryx and Black Diamond both have one in the works ... hopefully they'll show something at OR this year.

Quote Originally Posted by werdswerf View Post
    I have a Blackjack and it's great. That said, I will sell it and pick up a battery operated model as soon as one is proven reliable. I've read that Arc'teryx and Black Diamond both have one in the works ... hopefully they'll show something at OR this year.