vintage motorcycle restoration

I have no idea which forum this belongs in. Tech talk? Padded room? Anyway...

My son has got into motorcycles. Crotch rockets, a 600cc kawasaki ninja, specifically. He's unfortunately following the same path I took at his age (I had a yamaha rd400), so I can't really object. But I am old and wise enough now to realize how dangerous these things are.

I am thinking of trying to get him/us into restoring and riding vintage bikes as a safer and maybe even more satisfying option (building up a couple of old bikes over a year or three and then riding them.) I've got some background in motorcycle mechanics but not in vintage bikes per se. Thinking about Norton's, Triumphs, Indians, old Ducati's, others? Wondering if there is any TGR wisdom about this choice re: relative ease of working on the bikes, finding parts, ultimate rideability and reliability, etc. Thanks!

If you go BSA or Norton you WILL have a bitch of a time with electrical. If you don't know the ins and outs of wiring for a bike you certainly will when you are done, if you are able to fix it.

My only restoration was of older dirt bikes so I can't be of much help. Really want to build a cafe racer as soon as I get a garage.

Good luck! Wrenching is fun. I learned everything from my pops who is mechanic. Good times were had. Excellent father/son activity!
    Brought to you by Carl's Jr.

I always wanted to ride on a track to learn some skills in a safer environment without cars, guardrails, sand, trees etc, when I had my sportbike. If he has that Ninja now, he'll be wanting to wring it out, and a track is way better than on the street.

I have been thinking of getting an old Honda CB bike from the seventies and redoing it. Not as classic as the bikes you are interested in, but parts are easier to find, and they are more comfortable for my tall build.

Not sure of your safer assumption. The older bikes handling and brakes kinda suck.