Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    jerr is offline Underwater trapeze artist

Who's using an Ardent tire and why?

I recently wacked an ardent on my front tire and really quite like it, but I'm by no means an expert. I don't see a lot of people talking this up? Am I missing something?

It's on a commercal meta 5.5 and I do a lot of pumping up, down-hilling down. A bit of XC but not so much. Mostly dry-packed surfaces which gets a little dusty on top and a little muddy straight after rain but dries out pretty quick. Some rocky stuff but not much.

Size is 2.4

Any thoughts or better options are appreciated.
    Nine out of ten Jeremy's prefer a warm jacket to a warm day

It sounds like a pretty good choice for your given application. I have one on the rear and like it back there. I prefer the DHF up front for better grip, but I don't mind the back being a bit looser and they roll better than DHFs.

And no you didn't find a secret gold mine, they're quite popular.

Currently running Ardents 29x2.4 front and 29x2.25UST rear. Love the front tire but feel like I could do better for the rear tire choice.

Yeah, they're very popular. Around here in North Van, not so much. I believe the need for side knobs with some integrity and bite (we've got so much off camber, loose, wet, rocky tech) are a necessity and the Ardents side knobs are way too soft.

makes sense. I've been riding Ardents all summer (2.4 front, 2.1 rear), just because they came on my new bike. They've been good, I'd get them again. Trails are 90% dry/dusty/sandy here (Invermere BC), plus a few rocky bits. Everything dries super fast if it rains.

On the weekend I rode a muddy trail for the first time, sliding all over the place with the front esp washing out. Off topic I know, but what's a better tires for wetter trails?

DHF front, Ardent rear is a good combo in the dryer months. DHF front and rear in the wetter ones.