Page 64 of 65 FirstFirst ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 LastLast
Results 1,576 to 1,600 of 1604

Thread: What phone now?

  1. #1576
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    In a van... down by the river
    Posts
    3,930
    Can't pretty much ANY Android phone do wifi calls at this point?

  2. #1577
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    I smell poutine!!!
    Posts
    8,298
    Quote Originally Posted by skaredshtles View Post
    Can't pretty much ANY Android phone do wifi calls at this point?
    Yes, but does the carrier also do WiFi calling, that is, does it automatically use wifi if available? Or do you have to use a different app? Most carriers fuck you long time and make sure your call is always as expensive as possible.

  3. #1578
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Among Greatness All Around
    Posts
    5,162
    Quote Originally Posted by skaredshtles View Post
    Can't pretty much ANY Android phone do wifi calls at this point?
    Most new models do- if the carrier supports it also. Some also need an app if the carrier does not have it as part of their standard offering (Project Fi was one of the first that prioritized using wifi calling over hitting the closest tower from a carrier.) Verizon and Sprint have their older CDMA calling that is not wifi calling. There also is in addition to Wifi calling the Voice over LTE- some call it HD Voice using the 4G data to do the voice calling. So in some areas that they do not have 4G signal (so cellular data not wifi) they fall back to the older CDMA voice calling in rural areas without the 4G data coverage.

  4. #1579
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sandy, Utah
    Posts
    11,271
    Quote Originally Posted by RShea View Post
    Most new models do- if the carrier supports it also. Some also need an app if the carrier does not have it as part of their standard offering (Project Fi was one of the first that prioritized using wifi calling over hitting the closest tower from a carrier.) Verizon and Sprint have their older CDMA calling that is not wifi calling. There also is in addition to Wifi calling the Voice over LTE- some call it HD Voice using the 4G data to do the voice calling. So in some areas that they do not have 4G signal (so cellular data not wifi) they fall back to the older CDMA voice calling in rural areas without the 4G data coverage.
    Verizon removed the ability to prefer wifi over cellular for anything BUT while roaming. In the USA on Verizon you NEVER ROAM. If it picks up even the weakest cell signal it will force the call over cellular and it typically sucks. choppy call, dropped, etc. You used to be able to do this, but verizon changed it in some update. I've found that putting the phone in airplane mode and turning wifi back on will force the phone to do ONLY wifi calling/texting. I work and live in areas with crap cell service. This option changed it for me. Now texts are fast and calls are clear at home/work.
    http://www.firsttracksonline.com

    I wish i could be like SkiFishBum

  5. #1580
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    I smell poutine!!!
    Posts
    8,298
    Quote Originally Posted by Skidog View Post
    Verizon removed the ability to prefer wifi over cellular for anything BUT while roaming. In the USA on Verizon you NEVER ROAM. If it picks up even the weakest cell signal it will force the call over cellular and it typically sucks. choppy call, dropped, etc. You used to be able to do this, but verizon changed it in some update. I've found that putting the phone in airplane mode and turning wifi back on will force the phone to do ONLY wifi calling/texting. I work and live in areas with crap cell service. This option changed it for me. Now texts are fast and calls are clear at home/work.
    Nothing wrong with that. However, it does blur the line between phone and tablet. I think a lot of us, especially me, are really using our phones as tablets. Which keeps me wishing that instead of smartphones, they just put better radios in flip phones so they could be hotspots. I miss my old Moto Razr.

  6. #1581
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    In a van... down by the river
    Posts
    3,930
    Yeah - I guess I just assumed that everyone used an app to make phone calls any more.

  7. #1582
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    I smell poutine!!!
    Posts
    8,298
    Quote Originally Posted by skaredshtles View Post
    Yeah - I guess I just assumed that everyone used an app to make phone calls any more.
    I just wish everyone used the same app. I have to go into a handful of different apps to reach everyone.

  8. #1583
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    In a van... down by the river
    Posts
    3,930
    Quote Originally Posted by riser3 View Post
    I just wish everyone used the same app. I have to go into a handful of different apps to reach everyone.
    Hmm... I just use Hangouts and dial people like a regular phone. Is that not possible from other apps?

  9. #1584
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    I smell poutine!!!
    Posts
    8,298
    Quote Originally Posted by skaredshtles View Post
    Hmm... I just use Hangouts and dial people like a regular phone. Is that not possible from other apps?
    Who talks? Some people use Hangouts, some people use WhatsApp, some people use ol fashioned sms. I don't do Facebook, there's that whole messenger crowd. And there's a ton of other apps, above list barely scratches the surface. Since I am on Fi I use Hangouts for calls and sms.

  10. #1585
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5,260
    Key-rist! Are you guys talking about your Verizon-mangled phones with all of this horseshit? With a Pixel the default is wifi calling if you're connected locally and then cell if needed (no difference really whether you're a Fi customer or Verizon). If you're in Yurp with a Pixel and worried about the cost of calling back to the states or locally in Yurp either pay $10/day or just shut cell service off, find a nice wifi signal and have at it. Verizon won't/can't block it. Installed dialer works great or use Duo for crystal clear voice.

  11. #1586
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5,260
    Quote Originally Posted by riser3 View Post
    Who talks? Some people use Hangouts, some people use WhatsApp, some people use ol fashioned sms. I don't do Facebook, there's that whole messenger crowd. And there's a ton of other apps, above list barely scratches the surface. Since I am on Fi I use Hangouts for calls and sms.
    Isn't Duo the new Hangouts?

  12. #1587
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    seatown
    Posts
    3,220
    iím expecting corporate IT to kick me off the network goods this month when appleís push to 13 comes and i canít upgrade my iphone6. not sure i can make the jump to the lack of cord. the best part is i will have to pay for it. shenanigans. i hope i am misinterpreting my fate.

  13. #1588
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    I smell poutine!!!
    Posts
    8,298
    Android 10 landed on my Pixel 3a today.

  14. #1589
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    PRB
    Posts
    21,338
    Quote Originally Posted by riser3 View Post
    Android 10 landed on my Pixel 3a today.
    didn't land on my Pixel 3, but when I went looking it was available to me.
    "fuck off you asshat gaper shit for brains fucktard wanker." - Jesus Christ
    "She was tossing her bean salad with the vigor of a Drunken Pop princess so I walked out of the corner and said.... "need a hand?"" - Odin

  15. #1590
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    I smell poutine!!!
    Posts
    8,298
    Quote Originally Posted by Danno View Post
    didn't land on my Pixel 3, but when I went looking it was available to me.
    I stand corrected. Land was the wrong word. Yes, I pushed check for updates and it pulled it. The funny part was the automatic check a few hours earlier didn't grab it. Maybe it's manual only? Also it didn't like me switching to another app like I usually do, it paused it until I came back and I told it to resume.

  16. #1591
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Summit County
    Posts
    313
    holy crap...xfinity mobile is the worst customer support i have ever encountered..yeah yeah its comcast but holy crap! they actually confused me they were so bad

    super cheap but once you have any issue its better to change carries. relqted to the fairplay colorado coming back one 285 and no service..the 3rd level tech then her manager actually told me u need to check for updates daily and reboot your new samsung every morning...no explanation why verizon works fine [or did] in that area. 3rd level stated the phones these days are just like computers...need to be rebooted every day. WTF?

    yea, keep Xfinity mobile until u have an issue then switch carries before wasting time with their support

  17. #1592
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sandy, Utah
    Posts
    11,271
    Quote Originally Posted by huckbucket View Post
    Key-rist! Are you guys talking about your Verizon-mangled phones with all of this horseshit? With a Pixel the default is wifi calling if you're connected locally and then cell if needed (no difference really whether you're a Fi customer or Verizon). If you're in Yurp with a Pixel and worried about the cost of calling back to the states or locally in Yurp either pay $10/day or just shut cell service off, find a nice wifi signal and have at it. Verizon won't/can't block it. Installed dialer works great or use Duo for crystal clear voice.
    Pixel on Verizon cannot default to wifi in USA. Only while roaming can wifi be selected as default Calling method. Sure, duo, whatapp, Facebook messenger will all work but regular calling will not.
    I've been experimenting as my house has bad cell reception. I simply do not get calls when I turn off mobile network. I can call out, but not receive.

    This capability was changed by Verizon in some update. Other carriers allow wifi as default.

    Sent from my Pixel 2 using TGR Forums mobile app
    http://www.firsttracksonline.com

    I wish i could be like SkiFishBum

  18. #1593
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5,260
    Quote Originally Posted by Skidog View Post
    Pixel on Verizon cannot default to wifi in USA. Only while roaming can wifi be selected as default Calling method. Sure, duo, whatapp, Facebook messenger will all work but regular calling will not.
    I've been experimenting as my house has bad cell reception. I simply do not get calls when I turn off mobile network. I can call out, but not receive.

    This capability was changed by Verizon in some update. Other carriers allow wifi as default.

    Sent from my Pixel 2 using TGR Forums mobile app
    I'm with you. I was just thinking about calling out and not receiving although I know I can have cellular off and wifi on and get calls. Confident I've done this a bunch of time.

  19. #1594
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    here and there
    Posts
    14,871
    So AT&T working on local towers has me without cell coverage at my house on the HTC android phone. Everything else works except incoming and out going calls. Going round and round for two weeks with the very nice folks at the AT&T store has not yielded a solution. My neighbor has the iphone and is not having any problems.

    Looks like I can get a renewed i8 off amazon for around $300 dedicated to AT&T or $350 for unlocked to all carriers, I have had the HTC for about 7+ years so new phone seems like the thing to do.
    watch out for snakes

  20. #1595
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    I smell poutine!!!
    Posts
    8,298
    Wuz yer HTC using 2G??? A few years ago AT&T upgraded the towers around here and folks had to get new phones.

    Why buy an n-4 used iPhone and get on the Apple/iOS merry go round? Head over to Moto and check out the G7 Play. If you were using a 7 year old HTC, even an Etch-a-sketch is going to seem like an upgrade. If you treat it nice you'll get 3 years out of the Moto. I don't think the cell coverage issue is Apple vs Android. I think it's a case where the radio in your HTC is no longer compatible with the towers in your hood. They obviously changed something. Wait, did it ever work?

  21. #1596
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    here and there
    Posts
    14,871
    The last try was to replace the sim card which did not work, also found out that the battery is swelled possibly causing problems. The HTC was good with 4G, they are going to 5G. Old phone, time to upgrade.

    Got an iphone 8 on the way.
    watch out for snakes

  22. #1597
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Squaw valley
    Posts
    2,573
    Bought a ulefone armor 3 with a. 10300 mah battery

    Heavy, but it lasts 2+days of heavy use, as opposed to my Moto which later half a day.

    And it's pretty bulletproof

    Sent from my Armor_3 using Tapatalk

  23. #1598
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    I smell poutine!!!
    Posts
    8,298
    Quote Originally Posted by rod9301 View Post
    Bought a ulefone armor 3 with a. 10300 mah battery

    Heavy, but it lasts 2+days of heavy use, as opposed to my Moto which later half a day.

    And it's pretty bulletproof

    Sent from my Armor_3 using Tapatalk
    Holy Engrish Batman! Check out their website. Thanks but no thanks.

  24. #1599
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Loveland, Chair 9.
    Posts
    3,730
    Quote Originally Posted by SB View Post
    So AT&T working on local towers has me without cell coverage at my house on the HTC android phone. Everything else works except incoming and out going calls. Going round and round for two weeks with the very nice folks at the AT&T store has not yielded a solution. My neighbor has the iphone and is not having any problems.

    Looks like I can get a renewed i8 off amazon for around $300 dedicated to AT&T or $350 for unlocked to all carriers, I have had the HTC for about 7+ years so new phone seems like the thing to do.
    i'm dropping from an iphone7 to 6. had to get a 7 after leaving the 6 on a plane but southwest actually found it and sent it to me; 7 was overrated and probably so is everything else after the iphone5
    Eat em up Houston Cougars !

  25. #1600
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    the Low Sierra
    Posts
    12,208
    Just replaced the battery on my 6. Going strong.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •