Skiing telephoto for crop body

I'm starting to look into picking up a telephoto lens to use on my 20D. I'm just starting out so it doesn't need to be anything overly fancy/expensive, but I want something somewhat decent. I also have a Sigma 17-70 OS HSM and Canon 50 f1.8. I recently inherited a Canon 75-300 II non-USM from my grandfather, but I'm finding the lens a bit slow for anything less than pretty good light, and the AF hunts a lot.

I like the range of the Canon 55-250 and am wondering if there exists anything with a similar range that's a bit of a step up. Anything higher end seems to start at 70, and I feel that having 55 at the wide end would add versatility.

Nothing that I'm aware of that starts in the 50mm range (that's not the 55-250mm you mentioned previously) that's any good. There's the Canon 70-200 f/4L non-IS lens that's a solid performer, but it's around $500+ used.

I have a Sigma 18-125mm OS HSM for sale that's an awesome skiing lens, take a look at my for-sale post a few threads down. It's not as much of a long zoom, but it's a helluva focal range.

Quote Originally Posted by smmokan View Post
    There's the Canon 70-200 f/4L non-IS lens that's a solid performer, but
    That would be my suggestion.......

I shoot with one on a 7D/crop body and friggin love it.

The 70-200L family has probably captured more published ski images than any other Canon lens in existence.

For a budget lens, what are the thoughts on the 70-210 3.5-4.5 USM? They can be had pretty damn cheap and reviews are favourable. Is it a worthwhile upgrade over my 75-300? The USM and faster aperture would be helpful.

I don't think a 70-200L is in the budget right now, though if there is no lens I can get that's substantially better than my current telephoto other than going to that, I guess I'll start saving.

there's an awful lot of reflected light while skiing that would make a 5.6 or even slower more than adequate.