Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Major/career advice needed (actually skiing related)

Lately I've been seriously questioning my choice of major and the career it may lead to. I'm currently studying geology at the University of Utah with the intent to emphasize in mineralogy or something mining related. I love the subject but the more I learn about it, the less it seems like it will be conducive of the lifestyle I'm shooting for. Here is what I'm after:

Decent salary ($50,000+)
    Live in SLC
    Have adequate free time to ski an ~80 day season
    Good job outlook and opportunities
    Good job security/stability
    Mentally stimulating or academic
    Does not involve blood or gore (I can't handle that shit)
    No cubicle hell
    Completable in under 5 years (I'm a 2nd year undergrad right now)

Any ideas?
    All I know is that I don't know nothin'... and that's fine.

You considered being a nurse?

Work 3 twelve hour shifts and ski 4 days a week (until your wife says otherwise).

Pay is basically what you are after but you get to save people's lives or be a floor nurse and pass drugs.
    Quote Originally Posted by SpinalTap View Post
    I'm really troubled by whatever pictures the Don had to search through to arrive at that one...

with geology you could get into oil.....a lot of guy work 2 weeks on, 2 weeks off. so when you're on the rig you are stuck there, but you get 180 days off in the year. and for your two weeks you can go wherever you want.

I did my undergrad in geological engineering and masters in hydrogeology/geochemistry.. I worked the past 2 years in consulting and got 80 ski days in each year (driving to Whistler from Vancouver). Sure you may be sent to the field sometimes, but most of that occurs in the summer. Something to think about..
    The true bonus of doing geological engineering though is that it has allowed me to pursue my true dream.. avalanche research. Lots of opportunities out there with geology