Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Bozeman Resources?

So I just moved down to Bozeman after spending 8 years in Whitefish and one year in Girdwood. I'm a complete noob to skiing in this area, beyond my obligatory 5 days at Bridger and 5 days ay Big Sky over the last 9 years. I already know what I'm doing pass-wise, I'm just looking for some insight to the useful skiing resources in this community. FOR EXAMPLE: websites with accurate information on snowpack conditions; how the snow plays out on a "typical" snow year; a good person in town to mount bindings and baseweld skis; etc.

I know, I know, call me a fucking jong or whatever... Just looking to get pointed in the right direction in a few areas. Yes, I've done a search of this forum, and yes, most of this information exists already... Just trying to consolidate any information you guys have into this post. I'm sure I'll meet many of the Bozeman minions in due time.

Yes, I'm BC savvy, yes, I have BC equipment, no, I'm not an idiot...

Thanks for your advice.

-TTT

Search out Gomez of Casa Tours. He will do you right.

www.mtavalanche.com for snow conditions, they'll have a report going every day once we have a snowpack.

whoa that was close!

Also while maybe not my favorite shop Eric @ the Roundhouse is a pretty good ski-tech.

So ttt what are you doin for a pass?

Eric at the Roundhouse has been doing awesome work on my skis the last couple years, you can't go wrong with PHD skis either, those guy will take care of you.

There is no such thing as a typical snow year here. Most years there is a long dry spell at some point, I'd say 7 years out of 10. If we are really lucky, this will be 2 good ones in a row. Even in the worst years there is redemption at some point though. Enjoy this years persistant weak layer at the base of the snowpack.

Check the Montana Snotel sites for snow depth and weather. There should be links on the Avy center.