Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

WY Mags - Request for a Little Info

Hey guys - I am planning a trip with the GF up to the Tetons and Yellowstone this summer (totally wide open on actual time to go). The primary draws are: (1) general touristy and wildlife photography in Yellowstone (she has never been), (2) maybe some whitewater rafting on the Snake (I know that isn't the best time of year and (3) fly fishing. Would love to climb, but I get enough of that in the Sierra and woudl rather just go back up with a climbing partner and actually get after it rather the devoting a day or two on this trip to cragging.

For the fly fishing part, I am a novice (get out in Nor Cal - e.g., McCloud, Trinity) a handful of times a year, and she has never. But I was mentioning this in passing as a cool way to see some great scenery (beyond mere backpacking) and do something together, and she is gung-ho

So I was thinking for the FF part of some sort of guided lodge for 3-4 days that is in the general Jackson/Yosemite area. I have gear, she has none - so it would need to have rental stuff to. I know there are ultra-lux places, etc... that cater to this, but that is not necessarily what we are looking for. Just a place that has good fishing (e.g., streams/creeks right next to the lodge), some character/history, good guides, smaller(ish) client list at one time, good eating and a good reputation. Not trying to break the bank here either, but I know this is a sliding scale.

Any recommendations/thoughts? Just a good place we can lock down, fish a ton, eat good and be in some amazing scenery.

Time of year suggestions would be good too.

We will likely bookend this trip with Jackson, Tetons and a couple of days in YNP. Figure a Friday night, through a week and the following Sunday.

Thanks.

wait, 'this' summer? Like, 2011? Or, 'next' summer?
    Something about the wrinkle in your forehead tells me there's a fit about to get thrown