TR: Yosemite Valley Spring Run-Off

Headed up to Yosemite Valley to check out the large waterfalls given the huge winter snowpack this year. I have never been to Yosemite Valley to see the spring run-off. I figured I would share some pictures and I guess this is where you would put it in TGR.

I am really a total photo noob (until this year I have always done "auto" settings, but SchralphMacchio has helped me a bit in understanding some of the manual settings on my LX-3 so I am starting to learn on that. Eventually I would like to upgrade to a full "grown up" camera DSLR, though).

The weather was great both days with generally sunny skies and warm temps. I always love the view just past the tunnel heading into the Valley floor.

Crazy contrails in the skies – the jets were in full force on Saturday. Here Sarah poses with Bridalveil Fall off in the far distance.

El Cap along the Merced (which was flowing much higher than I have ever seen it given the time of year and the spring melting).

Ribbon Falls and El Cap – I have never seen Ribbon Falls in person as it only runs during the snow melt-off (and I am usually skiing this time of year in the High Sierra). We need to get back to the Valley more this time of year!

The Nose in mid-day light.

Posing just across the street from El Cap Meadows.

Reflection of Upper Yosemite Falls in the Merced.

Looking back at Cathedral Spires across the Valley. Interestingly, there were some pretty big gullies still holding snow that looked skiable earlier in the season (the noticeable V-bowl in the center). I wonder if these ever get skied.

We hiked out to Mirror Lake to check out the Northwest Face of Half Dome from the bottom. There were many minor waterfalls along the way that probably only last several weeks to a month.

Mirror Lake with a reflection of the edge of Half Dome. Mirror Lake itself will likely dry up later in the season so it was cool to be able to see it when there is actually a lake there.