Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Military Mags?

Military Mags?

A similar thread to this one was posted a couple years ago, I wanted to get some more opinions though. [sweet blog] I'm 23, fresh out of college (B.S. in Mech. Engineering), and have an extremely well paying job with tons of opportunity for advancement. I'm also in Houston, have about 60 grand in student loans to pay off, and am just about bored out of my mind. I've been kicking around the idea of active duty for 3 years or so as a way to get the loans taken care of, and hopefully as an opportunity to do some cool shit. I could then return to my current job and go from there. [/sweet blog]

So my questions: Who has served, and what are your thoughts? What do you wish you had done differently? Where will they want to put me as an engineer?
    Should I just quit my bitching and be thankful that I have a job?

The last thread mentioned military.com a few times which looks to be a pretty great resource. However, since TGR is the only place I go when I have a question I figured I'd ask here first.
    Last edited by orlowskij; 07-13-2010 at 06:00 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Kenny Powers
    That's how the plague started back in the day...from a little disgusting bird bath in someones back yard that rats made sex to birds in and created a whole new type of AIDS

Watching with interest, as I'm 24, same degree, unemployed and have about the same in loans...

Go in the military, and I'll take your job.

Ha, we'll see. Head south man. There are engineering jobs to be found, just not where anyone on this board wants to be.
    That's how the plague started back in the day...from a little disgusting bird bath in someones back yard that rats made sex to birds in and created a whole new type of AIDS

Where'd you get your degree?

Quote Originally Posted by orlowskij View Post