Wall to wall carpet installment

Now that the interior of the house is bright and shiny after several weeks of interior work, the stair runner and second floor wall to wall (same carpet all around) is due for replacement. It actually still looks good, little to no wear, so the quality was top notch, but alas, its about 20 years old and its time to replace. My questions:
    1. WTF do I do with the furniture? Move it all into one of the rooms, get that empty room carpeted, then move all the shit into the newly carpeted room, and so on? Or does all the shit have to come off the second floor? This is my first time doing this, and I'm looking towards the fall to do it after shopping around for a deal.

2. Is there a worthwhile amount of savings if I rip it out and dispose of it myself?

Buddy of mine just did this.
    He rented one of those PODS that sit in the driveway for a week.
    Moved all shit out there, carpeted, moved all shit back in.

I can use my garage for that, the horror of moving all that shit is giving me nightmares. Especially since I just painted the halls and stairwell.

... ENOUGH about Demi Moore's bush in that picture already...
    "If you limit your choices only to what seems possible or reasonable, you disconnect yourself from what you truly want, and all that is left is a compromise." -Robert Fritz

Quote Originally Posted by skifishbum View Post
    not enough nun fisters in that community

In my limited experience, your best discount leverage will come from getting all the crap out of the rooms to be carpeted (as well as any thing in the pathway of installation and removal). That makes the job easier and saved me the most bucks. Move it ALL to the garage if that works.

Removing the old carpet was a pain and I'm not sure it was really worth it in terms on the additional dollars wrangled out of the dealer.

Move it all into the kitchen and bathrooms. If it doesn't fit, throw it away.