Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 40
  1. #1
    DJSapp's Avatar
    DJSapp is online now (╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    All over NCal
    Posts
    6,261

    Can't access netflix from home

    Well, it would appear that at&t is blocking netflix from my house. It appears that the netfilx domain si blocked, but the rest of the internet is fair game. This is annoying mainly since our service is too slow to watch anything over the internet and all we want to do is browse and change our queue.

    Anyone have any ideas for work arounds? Bitch to AT&T? Net neutrality polyasshat forum, jong?
    Fat fuck bubbas are not erosion.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    In Transit
    Posts
    733
    Seeing that netflix doesn't charge extra for watching instantly, you're only way to take this is at at&t. Reaching out to netflix might get you some info on others that faced the same thing.
    Or you could just get another internet provider because your's obviously sucks balls.
    Ελευθερία ή θάνατος
    "Great moments are born from great opportunity."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    29,816
    Quote Originally Posted by DJSapp View Post
    it would appear that at&t is blocking netflix from my house. It appears that the netfilx domain si blocked,
    What specifically are you seeing to make you think it's actually blocked?

    I just checked and can see netflix fine through an AT&T connection in Seattle.

    The tubes in your area maybe blocked somehow?
    Quote Originally Posted by Downbound Train View Post
    And there will come a day when our ancestors look back...........

  4. #4
    DJSapp's Avatar
    DJSapp is online now (╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    All over NCal
    Posts
    6,261
    I can ping and tracert www.netflix.com just fine, but when I go to load the site, it never comes up. Tried this on a couple computers with different browsers. This leads me to believe that att is throttling back netflix data.

    It is known that the data lines in my area are overloaded and are set to be upgraded in the next 6-12 months. Damn college kids and their torrents.
    Fat fuck bubbas are not erosion.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    29,816
    Sounds to me that it's more likely just your crappy dsl.

    Fixing/changing that easier than proving conspiracy theory? Your ISP's terms of service probably "allow" them to do it anyway.
    Quote Originally Posted by Downbound Train View Post
    And there will come a day when our ancestors look back...........

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Huh?
    Posts
    10,938
    Have you called AT&T about this yet? If not, do so. Let them know what's up. They may not actively be blocking it. It could just be a glitch somewhere.

    If it doesn't improve, and you determine that they are truly, actively blocking it then write the FCC. This is the reason we need net neutrality. Speaking of which, the FCC got some serious balls yesterday. They're going to classify ISPs as common carriers. This is hugely awesome news.
    "I knew in an instant that the three dollars I had spent on wine would not go to waste."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    399
    One thing to test when a site won't work is to replace the www with m (for mobile). Also maybe try changing your network properties to use a different more public DNS server, though your ping test seems to indicate that probably isn't the problem.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    29,816
    Arty I was just reading spam email that FCC's Genachowski indicated yesterday he was moving toward fucking the big ISPs and promoting net neutrality.

    Good news indeed.

    Big governement saving us from the "free" market again.
    Quote Originally Posted by Downbound Train View Post
    And there will come a day when our ancestors look back...........

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Missoula, MT
    Posts
    19,940
    Try a different DNS server. Also try going into command prompt and typing ipconfig/flushdns or something like that. First try using a different browser. Maybe you added it to a block list by accident.
    Are you going through a router? Try plugging directly into the modem. I don't there there is a bigger socioeconomic issue here.
    No longer stuck.

    Quote Originally Posted by stuckathuntermtn View Post
    Just an uneducated guess.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Bay area, cali
    Posts
    1,904
    can you get to it by IP? http://208.75.76.17

    did you already clear your history, cache and cookies on either machine? Reboot your both your modem and router?



    Sounds like dns to me. But always try the normal stuff first if you didnt already. If you can get to it by ip, just had a host entry in your host file or use a different DNS server. I get to it fine on the dsl line here at work (att) that we use for testing.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    A parking garage at 8000 feet
    Posts
    187
    If you have a wii you can get a netflix app for it and it might hide it from at&t. A friend uses this with comcast in SLC.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Couloirfornia
    Posts
    8,679
    I doubt AT&T is the problem. I have U-Verse here in San Ramon, and I don't have any issues with Netflix at all. And that includes a decent amount of streaming.
    Quote Originally Posted by Ernest_Hemingway View Post
    I realize there is not much hope for a bullfighting forum. I understand that most of you would prefer to discuss the ingredients of jacket fabrics than the ingredients of a brave man. I know nothing of the former. But the latter is made of courage, and skill, and grace in the presence of the possibility of death. If someone could make a jacket of those three things it would no doubt be the most popular and prized item in all of your closets.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Huh?
    Posts
    10,938
    Ahhhh...I forgot about DNS. AT&Ts DNS servers are notoriously flakey.

    www.opendns.com is your friend.
    "I knew in an instant that the three dollars I had spent on wine would not go to waste."

  14. #14
    DJSapp's Avatar
    DJSapp is online now (╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    All over NCal
    Posts
    6,261
    Ok, so I'm back home and running down the list

    Flush DNS, connect to main site: didn't load
    Connect to mobile site: didn't load
    Connect directly to ip: didn't load
    Reboot modem/router: didn't load
    Flushed history/cache etc.: didn't load

    I don't have time to try out the opendns link, any other ideas? I'll probably call at&t soon, in the meantime, my wife can't pick the movies
    Fat fuck bubbas are not erosion.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Warm, Flat and Dry
    Posts
    3,310
    No problem with connecting to netflix using ATT from here. I'm going to guess that it's the dns server that you're defaulting to with a fucked up routing table. You could flush the dns and it wouldn't make any difference until the routing table is rebuilt on the dns server's end. that normally happens incrementally, but if you get a hold of ATT you might be able to convince them to dump it and force a rebuild.
    "if the city is visibly one of humankind's greatest achievements, its uncontrolled evolution also can lead to desecration of both nature and the human spirit."
    -- Melvin G. Marcus 1979

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Missoula, MT
    Posts
    19,940
    try 8.8.8.8, that's Goggle's DNS.
    Did you try a different browser? any addons running that may conflict? Check the block list? Only other thing could be that there is a piece of malware specifically designed to interrupt netfilx service. Run spybot or something.
    No longer stuck.

    Quote Originally Posted by stuckathuntermtn View Post
    Just an uneducated guess.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Huh?
    Posts
    10,938
    Quote Originally Posted by DJSapp View Post
    I don't have time to try out the opendns link, any other ideas? I'll probably call at&t soon, in the meantime, my wife can't pick the movies
    You'll be done with OpenDNS by the time you get off hold with AT&T.
    "I knew in an instant that the three dollars I had spent on wine would not go to waste."

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Missoula, MT
    Posts
    19,940
    Well???????
    No longer stuck.

    Quote Originally Posted by stuckathuntermtn View Post
    Just an uneducated guess.

  19. #19
    DJSapp's Avatar
    DJSapp is online now (╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    All over NCal
    Posts
    6,261
    8.8.8.8 is no good.
    Fat fuck bubbas are not erosion.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Among Greatness All Around
    Posts
    5,171
    If you can ping via the domain name and get a result then the DNS is probably not the issue. Can't comment on AT&T as they do not have much in the way of service around my area (wireless only) - Verizon for the major local phone. So it could be a blocking that they are doing if you could reach them with the tracert reaches the site. Same for the fact that you tried their IP address instead of the domain name.

    Browser options have been tried - different ones and different computers, so sounds like that is off the list. I'd say it is time to bounce it off of AT&T to see what insight they can provide... same for Netflix - I'd make a call to them too.

    If it is Net neutrality, then that sucks on their part, but others are reporting no issues too under AT&T connections.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Missoula, MT
    Posts
    19,940
    I'm gonna go with some kind of malware.
    Run a full scan with spybot and avg.
    Then waste your time on the phone.
    No longer stuck.

    Quote Originally Posted by stuckathuntermtn View Post
    Just an uneducated guess.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Stuck in perpetual Meh
    Posts
    35,376
    Quote Originally Posted by DJSapp View Post
    8.8.8.8 is no good.
    Try 4.2.2.2 and put in 4.2.2.3 as an alternate.

  23. #23
    DJSapp's Avatar
    DJSapp is online now (╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    All over NCal
    Posts
    6,261
    Quote Originally Posted by stuckathuntermtn View Post
    I'm gonna go with some kind of malware.
    Run a full scan with spybot and avg.
    Then waste your time on the phone.
    You may be onto something. I hooked up my work laptop (clean system, runs norton daily, cc cleaner and spybot weekly) and was able to connect to netflix. Still unable to connect with my personal laptop, which is running avg on daily scans, but no spybot. Looks like I have some cleanup to do. Thanks guys.
    Fat fuck bubbas are not erosion.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Warm, Flat and Dry
    Posts
    3,310
    You didn't get that from watching netflix....
    "if the city is visibly one of humankind's greatest achievements, its uncontrolled evolution also can lead to desecration of both nature and the human spirit."
    -- Melvin G. Marcus 1979

  25. #25
    DJSapp's Avatar
    DJSapp is online now (╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    All over NCal
    Posts
    6,261
    No, the Mrs. most likely got it from facebook links. I never turn the computer on at home anymore.
    Fat fuck bubbas are not erosion.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •