Thread: 10 days in LA

10 days in LA

While my friends are working, where are decent spots to check out? I'm a beginner surfer, comfortable in the water, but I know I know just enough to still get me in trouble. Since everybody has to start somewhere, I'm all for getting out, watching a line-up for a while and paddling out. I won't have a board or my own car, so I am going to try to stay on the closer to LA area, and rent a board.

Any suggestions, either must-hits or don't get in the water here?

Hugh Conway Guest
    Malibu. Summertime, a good swell, it doesn't get any better or uncrowded in southern california. You can almost see Gidget on the shore.

I suggest County Line. It can be fun on a weekday, and I can't quite taste the turds in the water, but I can smell them.
    "Yo!! Brentley! Ya wanna get faded before work?"

Florida is a great place I heard

Hermosa or Redondo are pretty chill. When I was there we rented boards for a few hours and they didn't even charge us. The waves were pretty chill and so were the surfers. It's kinda touristy but if you are a tourist then it is what it is. You can rent a beach cruiser and ride from beach to beach too.

Quote Originally Posted by shredgnar View Post
    Hermosa or Redondo are pretty chill. When I was there we rented boards for a few hours and they didn't even charge us. The waves were pretty chill and so were the surfers. It's kinda touristy but if you are a tourist then it is what it is. You can rent a beach cruiser and ride from beach to beach too.
    There is a nice break just North of Manhattan Beach/El Porto. It can be pretty good some days.

This site is annoying with ads and load times but may save you some driving time, and as we all know time is money. And it is easy to blow lots of time in the car in LA.
    http://www.surfline.com/surf-report/...lifornia_4900/