Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: TREX Decks

TREX Decks

Anyone have Trex decking. Mine is falling apart after just 5 years of use. There is a class action litigation filed that is intended to handle serious warranty issues. This is going to be at least a $10,000 settlement anyone else been thru this?
    Do Not buy TREX it is a Bull Shit product 25yr warranty my ass
    TREX deck =
    "Do you have any idea what the street value of this mountain is" -Charles DeMar
    Never argue with an idiot..They always drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

I'm a carpenter who has installed several Trex decks and would never use it at my own home. That said, is it the actual Trex material falling apart or was conventional wood framing used underneath?

No the Trex is breaking down. The product was made in a Nevada plant and has been known to fall apart
    Never argue with an idiot..They always drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

Ipe wood is the only way to go for decks. It is a bitch to work with but will out last the house.
    `•.¸¸.•´><((((º>`•.¸¸.•´¯`•.¸.•´¯`•...¸><((((º>

"Having been Baptized by uller his frosty air now burns my soul with confirmation. I am once again pure." - frozenwater

"once i let go of my material desires many opportunities for playing with the planet emerge. emerge - to come into being through evolution. ok back to work - i gotta pack." - Slaag Master

"As for Flock of Seagulls, everytime that song comes up on my ipod, I turn it up- way up." - goldenboy

I have seen multiple Trex decks that have failed. A coworker of mrs rootskier has a 1400 square foot deck that failed and the only thing he got out of the deal was two units of new Trex delivered. Fucking bullshit.

The stuff blows ass. Go with Ipe or one of the similar rainforest woods, or better yet, a paver patio.

Quote Originally Posted by Pow4Brains View Post