Mags in the Alps: Studying in Vienna Jan-May, Please Help!!

Hey folks, where should i go skiing?

I'm from Montana and grew up skiing the Rockies. I'm in my third year of college and will be studying in Austria this spring. I hear Vienna was not the best ski choice but I am eager to travel.

I don't speak German yet. I will not have a car and I don't know a single person in Europe who skis! I will be arriving Jan 7th and taking one intensive German class until Feb 8th but i think i'll have some time on my hands to leave East Austria on the weekends. Feb-May i'll have Friday-Sunday to ski as well, with a couple of 9 day breaks. I want to find steeps and i'm bringing my AT gear. Where should I go on a broke college kid's budget?

Any info is greatly appreciated!

-Wade

I'm in Crans Montana, Switzerland in the Valais near Sion. If you get this way let me know I may be able to get some time off we could go touring and ski some backcountry. In spring I will have more time off and could meet you somewhere.

From Vienna you have some good skiing in Sallbach/Hinterglem, and Badgastein which are some of the farthest east resorts. Hintertux, Solden/Otztal/Piztal, Stubital, Ischgl, and of course St Anton the big daddy of them all. Many people have heard of Kitzbuhel but the mountains are not as big around there. Stick to the big high alpine areas I have mentioned they are what makes the Alps so unique. The high alpine/glacier skiing is what makes the Alps such great place.

The big classic resorts of the western Alps are, St Moritz, Wengen/Murren/Grindalwald, Zermatt, Verbier, Chamonix, and the whole d'Isere river valley(the three valleys) with Val d'Isere being the most famous up at the end of the valley. Also, in Italy the Val Gardena/Sella area.

Enjoy your winter, spring should be very good this year with all the snow the Alps have.
    Last edited by jwolter7; 12-27-2008 at 05:58 AM.

Bear in mind that St Moritz, Zermatt, Verbiers are incredibly overpriced.