Video Camera for skiing

This is a bit of a cross post from pistehors.com.
    http://pistehors.com/news/forums/viewthread/172/

I,m looking for a Video camera for skiing, but not a headcam. My first Video Camera. I am no expert, or IT wiz, in fact i,m the oppsite.. Can anyone suggest something that fulfills my criteria below? If so many Thanks!

Entry-level is probably best, but if there is a real good one a bit more pricey, then maybe i can go up to ca. 400 GBP / 500 euro / 700 USD

Here is a list of things that are important (Thanks to Davidof):

* fast startup time
    * small
    * robust
    * zoom
    * image stabilization
    * good battery life when cold
    * possible to use with gloves
    * colour viewfinder
    * simple controls
    * lens attachments
    * uncompressed video recording

To that i would add: Simplicity of editing and using the images on a laptop, and general idiot-proofness.

also, i,m thinking of steering away from "HD", since apparently it is hard to edit.

I am no budding film director, and i have no intention of trying to be, but do want to be able to edit and put togther a video. so simplicity and ease and reliability etc are the key here.

thanks a lot

Al

4-TEEF Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by McHardski View Post
    This is a bit of a cross post from pistehors.com.
    http://pistehors.com/news/forums/viewthread/172/

I,m looking for a Video camera for skiing. Can anyone suggest something that fulfills my criteria below?

Here is a list of things that are important (Thanks to Davidof):
    * fast startup time
    This is sort of a moot point because you will want 5 secs + of "roll in" no matter what you are shooting. Having said that I'm guessing that a tape(MiniDV) based camera will start up slower than one that uses a memory card.

* small
    Portability and stowability are nice but remember that the smaller and lighter the camera is the less stable it is and the more camera shake you will get, especially when zoomed in.