Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

EMT, WEMT, or OEC for Ski Patrol?

Mornin' All!

Search left me empty handed (for the more part) and was wondering if I could get a little help here.

I am a teacher and have several students who are interested in becoming ski patrollers as a seasonal profession. I have been a skier most of my life, but, could not answer their questions about certain things. I thought I would try to get some info from the TGR crew regarding a few ski patrol qualification questions.

My first question is...

I know that EMT training is required to work on most patrols. However, I do no know if I should be steering them towards an EMT (offered at the local community college), a WEMT (a longer much more expensive course) or an OEC (not offered anywhere near us) certification. I have heard some people say all you need is the EMT while others say that while the EMT will cut it, preference is given to those with WEMT or OEC certs? Can anyone shed any light on this for me?

Also, my students are wondering if you need a Blasting Certificate in order to work at a resort that does avi. work? I have no knowledge when it comes to this.

Me (and indirectly my students) would like to thank you in advance for the help.

OEC is less detailed and less thorough than EMT, although it focuses more specifically on what ski patrol does (so the course is shorter). However, my understanding is that such focus is given anyways by most patrols in their probationary/field internship training. OEC is not something that is really recognized by any industry outside of ski patrol.

WEMT is a GREAT course. It is also something that can be taken as an upgrade course later.

Talk to your local mountain because different mountains have different requirements. Around here most want EMT but will accept OEC for the first year. One mountain will only take EMTs. Another mountain requires OEC even if you are an EMT. I've never heard of a mountain requiring WEMT.