PDA

View Full Version : Avalung Survivor

Trackhead
03-02-2005, 10:52 AM
Cross post from the main forum to keep this story. Don't want to lose the link from Dawson's site.

Please describe your past off piste backcountry skiing experience?

I have been skiing for 19 years, and off-piste backcountry skiing for the last five, always using beacons, shovels and probes. In those five years, I have seen three avalanches.

Have you taken any avalanche safety courses in the past?
No I haven't, but I have read parts of the book " Skredfare " [WildSnow.com editor's note: a European avalanche safety book for backcountry skiers]. In Val Thorens (2004), we backcountry skied a lot with a friend (Petter) we hadn't skied with before. He had been to an avalanche safety course held by Markus Landerø (author of ”Skredfare”). We asked Petter to lead a practice session with our beacons. This was the first time many of us - including me - trained with our beacons outside.

Did you purchase the AvaLung? If, yes, what led you to buy it?
I got my avalung for Christmas from my girlfriend, 2 years ago.

Did you practice with your AvaLung as you do with your avalanche beacon?
I did not practice by getting buried. I check it before each ski tour by breathing through it. I also usually breathe through it before crossing a slope I consider to be risky.
Backcountry skiing avalanche survivor.
Avalanche survivor Martin Gulsrud with his Avalung.

Please describe the situation of the avalanche.