PDA

View Full Version : WTB: Road Bike

Red Baron
05-27-2004, 08:50 PM
Sub $500 please...total road bike newbie here, my GF just bought one so now I have to as well... :rolleyes:

51 to 54cm, I'm 5'8"- just need something fun to learn on, not something to win the Tour...

Anything out there?

I know Cornholio's thread down the page has some stuff and PM's have been sent...

Thanks,

Steve

UTdave
05-27-2004, 10:24 PM
sub 500 won't get much in a new raod bike. In fact it won't get you anything with most companies. Look used for something with 105 componentry about 1-3 years old and you should find something. With a roadbike fit is key. If you want to enjoy yourself then you have to be comfortable. Roll eyes aren't necessary because road riding is fun as hell (and painful as hell going up LCC:o ). Back to the fit issue if possible try to find a used bike locally that the seller will let you test ride. If you want I might be able to come along and offer fit advice (I have some pretty good fitting experience but in no way am I all knowing). Look on the roadbikereview.com classifieds and maybe ebay as well. Another important factor is frame and fork material. Early aluminim frames were harsh but that problem has lessened over time. Steel is comfortable but adds a bit of weight. Carbon is out of your price range. Do not buy a bike with an aluminum fork. At minimum the fork should have carbon legs. Steel forks provide a good ride but weigh a ton. The bike is only a starting point. You will need good pedals, I reccomend the Shimano SPD-SL models ( I use the 6400) or Look pedals. Road specific shoes are also important. They offer good energy transfer to the bike and help prevent "hot spots" on the foot. If you have any more ?s pm me.

edit: get a triple or be prepared for a ton of pain on the canyon roads.

fondigley
05-27-2004, 11:08 PM