PDA

View Full Version : I'm so damned confused now

Arty50
05-24-2004, 07:29 PM
So I just went into a shop that sells Santa Cruz stuff. After talking to one of the guys there he was steering me away from the Heckler and towards a Blur. I mentioned that I like a combo of going down and climbing. One of his questions was whether I like to jump off of stuff. I don't yet. Hence the Blur I guess.

Here's the thing. I just started riding in Tahoe, and I know the Blur is great for the things I've been riding so far. But the upper trails haven't openned yet I guess. Toad's, etc. So for what I'm riding right now (Coral Loop & Tahoe Mtn.), I feel like the Blur is perfect. But I'm starting to get bored with that stuff and want to ride some harder trails. I don't see myself needing a downhill bike or anything either.

Shit. So at this point I'm thinking of a Blur instead of a Heckler. Opinions? And to throw another wrench into this, I still have to go to another shop and look at the Turner 5-spot. I'm guessing both the Heckler and 5-spot can be built to fit my weight needs (light enough to go up), but would the Blur still be better despite this.

After all that longwinded bs, I guess I'm really wondering what these bikes are built for. He seemed to think the Heckler and 5-spot were more freeride based. I thought they were all around. I assume he knows a lot more than I do. He definitely seemed to and was a cool guy.

Fuck, just shoot me. Or kill the bastard that forced me to make this damn decision. Arggggghhhhh!!!!

Telenater
05-24-2004, 07:37 PM
Originally posted by Arty50

Fuck, just shoot me. Or kill the bastard that forced me to make this damn decision. Arggggghhhhh!!!!

Never ridden any of the bikes in question, but I'd say go with your gutt. And, it's better to have an overbuilt bike than an underbuilt one.

freshies
05-24-2004, 07:40 PM
sounds like a good delima to me! hmmm, blur, heckler or turner?