Ghetto Tubeless - A how to.

this thread is for those who havent tried it yet and I figured a how to might get some more people to try it.

I have been running 'ghetto" tubeless on my Giant since I got it about 3 months ago. If you havent tried tubeless yet on your MTB there really is no excuses to not give this try yet. Your bike will be be almost impossiable to flat, not to mention you can run alot lower pressures giving you better traction, a smoother ride, and in some cases about 1inch more 'travel"

I figure I would write alitte how to with some pictures on this pretty simple task.

so how to do tubeless the "ghetto" way

Stuff you will need

1.your wheels - UST is nice but you really dont need it
    2.tires of your choice, UST is nice but you do not need to use UST
    3.stans tubeless or any other liquid latex sealer will work
    4. x2 20inch Schrader BMX tubes
    5.floor pump
    6.compressed air
    7. something to cut the 20inch tube
    8.a open mind

optional

tire levers
    water

1.Take the wheels off the bike - duhhh

2. remove your old tube and tire from the wheel

3. clean the wheel off

4. take out the ringlets that make you wheel work with a presta valve, if you wheel is not drilled wide enough for a scrader valve. Take it to a bike shop or drill it yourself if you feel comfortable doign it.

5. streach the 20inch bmx tube around you wheel, this may require a partner.

6.(pictured below) inflate the 20inch bmx tube so you can untwist it and get a centerline.

7.(pictured below) take what ever you want to cut the tube with(i used scissors) and cut all the way around the tube.

after you are all the ways around the wheel streach the remaining tube over the sides

8.(pictured below) install the tire, making sure to keep the flaps extended on both sides. water could help here as the rubber to contact isnt excactly slippery.