Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Lightbulb The Canonical Wide Brake Information Thread

When you have bindings with brakes that are too narrow to fit your skis, you basically have three choices. First, you can buy or trade for replacement brakes. Second, you can bend the brakes to fit the skis. And third, you can go for different bindings.

I know I often find myself searching for wide brake information when I buy a new pair of skis, so it seems like a single thread might be useful. I'm no expert on the subject, so I searched Tech Talk and tha interweb, but I'm sure there's more information to add. Post corrections, pointers to existing threads that I missed, etc., and I'll update this first post.

Option A is probably to sack up and bend them. Marshalolson was kind enough to provide a how-to video TR featuring Salomon bindings and a 125mm-wide Volant Spatula. There are plenty of other techniques, and ingenuity is often rewarded. I think likwid’s method looks pretty sweet for stouter brakes, although I haven't tried it myself.

If you opt to buy, however, internet sources for wide brakes include Al’s, (delete the "?asdf" from the URL), Evogear, and Level Nine (which is often the best bet for Tyrolia). Don't rule out contacting the manufacturer or distributor, though -- they often have spare parts in stock, even for products no longer sold.

Look/Rossi/Roxy

Available sizes: P/Axial series: 100mm; PX/Axial2 series: 105mm, 125mm.

P18/FKS brakes are not replaceable, so if you want to put them on wide skis, you're going to have to bend. Slim wrote the ur-manual on how to take the brakes off and bend them, while Gordyman was kind enough to put together an illustrated primer on doing it with brakes in place but bindings unmounted.

At least some Look brakes are more difficult to bend than Salomon; heat is advisable, maybe necessary. And if you take the arms out to bend them, it's harder to get the bastards back in than Salomons. Consult El Chupacabra's learned treatise.