Why is my fly line sinking? (JONGish question)

I am new to this fly fishing thing, and I'm trying to figure out why the first foot or so of my supposedly floating flyline is sinking. I cleaned it with cortland dressing last night, and I used the little circular wipes that are supposed to clean and dress the line while on the water.

Still sinks.

What am I doing wrong?

It is 5 wt, weight forward long belly from Royal Wulff. I use a piece of orvis 40 lb. test mono with a perfection loop on the end (about 6") and just attach wahtever leader I need with a loop-loop connection. If it matters, The leader always sinks first, and seems to drag the fly-line down with it.

Any insight would be much appreciated. Oh and the line is new last month with maybe 10 days fishing on it.
    Looking California, feeling Minnesota.

Nothing. This has been a problem for years. Rio came out with a line that has more hollow spots in the tip to prevent this and seems to help, but still isn’t perfect. My only advice is to cut it off.
    `•.¸¸.•´><((((º>`•.¸¸.•´¯`•.¸.•´¯`•...¸><((((º>

"Having been Baptized by uller his frosty air now burns my soul with confirmation. I am once again pure." - frozenwater

"once i let go of my material desires many opportunities for playing with the planet emerge. emerge - to come into being through evolution. ok back to work - i gotta pack." - Slaag Master

"As for Flock of Seagulls, everytime that song comes up on my ipod, I turn it up- way up." - goldenboy

Loop-loop connector is the problem. Leave that yuppie crap to the Orvis/Eddie Bauer crowd.

The connector snags current a lot easier than a simple knotted smooth transition between line & leader. It gets pulled under more easily. It causes lousy fly drifts.

Ditch it.

Quote Originally Posted by uncle crud View Post
    Loop-loop connector is the problem. Leave that yuppie crap to the Orvis/Eddie Bauer crowd.