Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

or, my son wants to go fishing and i'm clueless

my son is 3½.

he wants to go fishing.

i have fished in my lifetime when i was a kid.. but my pop always tied the line for me and stuff.

so regarding fishing. i have no equipment. i have no knowledge. i do have a son who wants to fish.

since next weekend is NJ's free fishing weekend, with no license required, my plan is to go to ramapo reservation in mahwah. 5 minutes from home. perfect.

I bought fishing for dummies.. so I have a *little* knowledge now.. but that book says nothing about taking a kid to fish.. i care not about eating them.. i just want him to be happy that he caught a fish.

can I just buy him walmart's $10 rod and reel combo?
    what lure/s should I get him for the best chances of success?
    assuming that he might hate fishing after this weekend and never want to go again, what else should i buy? sinkers/bobbers/hooks/tacklebox/etc?
    what questions am i not asking??

I think your son is a little too young, but you might want to see if there's a 4-H nearby. My sons are both in the fishing group for our local 4-H, so they're around guys who actually understand this stuff. I'm basically in the same boat as you.
    not counting days 2016-17

Quote Originally Posted by steve View Post
    can I just buy him walmart's $10 rod and reel combo?
    what lure/s should I get him for the best chances of success?
    assuming that he might hate fishing after this weekend and never want to go again, what else should i buy? sinkers/bobbers/hooks/tacklebox/etc?
    what questions am i not asking??
    yes.
    screw lures and use bait if you're there to get him hooked up.
    All you need is the rod\reel\line\hook\bait although Id say to get some of those cheap plastic bobbers.

make sure you bring him and you food and the right clothes incase it rains.