Notices

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Ebay Bike Scam

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    23

    Ebay Bike Scam

    So I just came across what seems like a scam on Ebay. I went to bid on a Kona Dawg Primo but before I could, the seller recommended that I contact him first via email and not bid directly on Ebay. So I sent him an email asking if he had the bike in my size. I got a prompt response, which later seemed automated, stating that he had the bike in my size and to contact him with payment information. Included in the email was a 1 800 number, web address, ken-bicycles.com, and an address in Helena, MT. So I checked out the webpage and at that point I began to get suspicious. He states that he has inventory of a ton of different big name bikes (cannondale, specialized, kona, ellsworth, etc...) all 05 models that he is trying to "liquidate." Somehow, this didn't seem right and I decided to dig some info on this place. I tried to look up "ken bicycles" at yellowpages.com and I got no results. I then decided to call a bike shop in Helena and ask them if they have ever heard of such a place. They told me I wasn't the first person to call and this had been an ongoing scam for the past few months. So I guess this is a total scam, so if you ever come across an Ebay ad fitting that description in which the seller insists on contacting him first, BEWARE! Just thought you guys should know. No need to thank me for my investigatory journalism... And if you come across a Kona Dawg Primo, let me know.
    [I][B]"Beauty is in the eye of the tiger" - Handsome Boy Modeling SchoolI]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    WHEREAS,
    Posts
    12,488
    I hear Columbo is looking for an assistant.
    Quote Originally Posted by Roo View Post
    I don't think I've ever seen mental illness so faithfully rendered in html.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Banff
    Posts
    15,616
    let ebay know?

    good sluthing

    Email me at dave@fatskideals.com for boot fitting questions, or stop by
    http://www.facebook.com/SoulSkiandBike in banff.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    208 State
    Posts
    1,333
    not a Kona Dawg Primo, but....

    http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=188871

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Bliss
    Posts
    1,621
    someone else posted something about buying from this shop directly on their website - again, the deals looked too good to be true...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •