ACL repair - Patella vs. Hamstring vs. everything

Thought I would get a debate going here. When I went under the knife it was less than 24 hours after the injury. I hadn't even thought of what kind of procedure I was going to have.

I REALLY think I lucked out and managed to be seen by one of the leading ortho's in the country, Dr. Peter Rork out of Jackson wy.

He does around 10 acl surgery's a week and so is very practiced at them. He only does Hamstring grafts.

After my surgery I started studying the different options. The two most popular these days are Patella & Hamstring grafts.

--Here is possibly the controversial part. My Doc and it seems various ortho sites and plenty of athletes I have talked to state that the Hamstring is far and away the best way to go.

Less pain, stronger, more ROM etc. etc. The only reason more docs don't do it is because it is a much harder procedure to master for the surgeon. (says my doc, and various sites)

So - what do you all think??

Graft choice and which is best really depends on the person, their activity level and what they personally want after surgery.

All three graft types have their pros and cons. Most orthos will say the patellar tendon is the "gold standard" when it comes to graft choice. It has good fixation with a bone block at each end and is very strong. The draw backs are taking a section out of the only tendon that can forcefully extend your knee and possible side effects like patellr tendonitis and pain when kneeling later on. Also probably then most painful of the three choices.

As for the hamstring, it is a good choice, it is strong but tougher to get good fixation due to the fact there are no bone blocks. you avoid the patellar tendon issues, but they can also stretch out over time for some people who are naturally very flexible. middle of the road as far as pain goes.