Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Wide aluminum rim options (ie cheaper than carbon)

Looking to build up a new set of wheels and would like to find a nice lightish/wideish option.
    I like the idea of the WTB KOM i35. Seems like a step up from Flows or Frequency i25s.
    Any other good options out there?

FWIW, I just built up a set for my wife with Nextie rims. They're great, just want to cut my rim price in half.
    However many are in a shit ton.

Spank Oozy Trail 295s? http://spank-ind.com/products/rim/oo...-bead-bite-rim

That's what I was thinking of getting if and when I decide to build up wheels in the future. I have no experience with them, but they seem like they'd do the trick. Curious to hear other suggestions as well.

^^^ Pretty sure those are just as wide as Stan's Flow EXs with the internal measurement. They're only 29.5mm external.

They make an i35 now? Only see the 25. Check out the DT Swiss Ex471, they're right there weight wise and externally 30mm (no idea internal).

http://www.light-bicycle.com/carbon-...l#.VaArfvlViBU

I had excellent luck with these. There is also a 30mm (internal) one. I'd likely go with that this go around. Its carbon at high end alum prices. (okay slightly higher than that but they are awesome!)

Finstah Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by jm2e View Post
    Looking to build up a new set of wheels and would like to find a nice lightish/wideish option.
    I like the idea of the WTB KOM i35. Seems like a step up from Flows or Frequency i25s.
    Any other good options out there?
    KOM i35's? For reals? Do share the inside scoop...

Blunt 35?

Wide aluminum rim options (ie cheaper than carbon)

Oh shit. I should have said KOM i25. I guess they're 25mm internal width.

Staying away from anything Blunt. Not heard good things about their durability.

re Light Bicycle: $180 + S&H = Double The Price
    Last edited by jm2e; 07-10-2015 at 06:59 PM.