Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Avy Level 2 worth the money? (and recommendations for location)

First of all, I searched for old threads on this topic but didn't find much. If I'm wrong and this has already been discussed, please share the link(s).

Background: fairly serious backcountry skier, 1-2 tours per week, no resort skiing, took a level 1 class in 2011 with Colorado Mountain School in Estes Park. Ski partners vary from minimum avy education to level 1 to a few level 2.

Question: Do people that have taken a level 2 course felt as though it was worth the money? I am a grad student so money is tight and a course plus possible lodging isn't cheap. I know that level 2 is alot more snow science than level 1 so am curious how much real-life application there is to learning this material? In other words, I know that realistically, I am not going to dig full profiles pits, use a microscope, thermometer, etc. on everyday tours so is it worth paying for and learning?

Also: any recommendations on location for a level 2 course? what is the difference between an AAI vs AIARE course? Located in Missoula MT (no level 2 courses by local avy center) so options include Bozeman (gallatin national forest) or is it worth the drive to SLC or Jackson for a bigger avy center course?

Thanks in advance for first-hand experience and advice.

look at community colleges, in mountain towns they offer avie courses, and since they are spread over many weeks, you retain a lot more.

I took my level 2 with Colorado Mountain College in Breck. So it was way cheap. I think around $200 for a week of instruction. Well worth it.

Quote Originally Posted by Mantana1 View Post
    ...I know that realistically, I am not going to dig full profiles pits, use a microscope, thermometer, etc. on everyday tours so is it worth paying for and learning?