Kiting in the Gorge

So I suck donkey balls, totally JONGeriffic kiteboarder, and Utah is not the best place to learn and/or practice. I'm looking for a good place where the wind is constant and there are plenty of instructional resources, so thinking the Gorge at the end of this month.

Q's for the collective:

1) End of August, reasonable time to go?
    2) River temps that time of year? Wetsuit necessary?
    3) Camping nearby?
    4) Any of you know an outfit that has good instructors? I still suck and need lots of basic training, but am not a total newb.
    5) What size kite? I have a range of kites, and will prolly bring 'em all, but just wondering what to expect.
    6) Other shit to do?
    7) Places to eat, things to see...

Thanks all.

Quote Originally Posted by Tri-Ungulate View Post
    So I suck donkey balls, totally JONGeriffic kiteboarder, and Utah is not the best place to learn and/or practice. I'm looking for a good place where the wind is constant and there are plenty of instructional resources, so thinking the Gorge at the end of this month.

Q's for the collective:

1) End of August, reasonable time to go?
    2) River temps that time of year? Wetsuit necessary?
    3) Camping nearby?
    4) Any of you know an outfit that has good instructors? I still suck and need lots of basic training, but am not a total newb.
    5) What size kite? I have a range of kites, and will prolly bring 'em all, but just wondering what to expect.
    6) Other shit to do?
    7) Places to eat, things to see...

Thanks all.
    1. August is good.

2. If your good you can get away with a shorty. If you spend a lot of time in the water, you'll probably want a 3/2 full.

3. Tons of camping. I like Homevalley on east wind days and Maryhill when it's nuking.

4. No specifics, just go to the event center and you'll find someone.

5. Bring them all, winds all over the place.

6. Mtbing, hiking, and even skiing.
    It's outdoor sports Mecca.