Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

HELP: Tuckerman Ravine Skiers / Riders!

Hey guys!

I am a student at Lyndon State College in the Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I am an avid Tuckerman Skier, and when time came to choose a topic for my senior thesis for college I knew I wanted it to deal with avalanche education and awareness.

So, I am conducting research on the effectiveness of the daily avalanche bulletin related to route choice for the day up within the bowl.

Research is being done through a survey. It is very short and will only take roughly 10 minutes to complete, if that. The survey includes a consent form and will be anonymous.

Please help a fellow TGR member and skier out with some avalanche education!

- Chris Wilke

Survey: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1PKB...Pd2Lc/viewform
    Last edited by ctw55; 04-03-2014 at 03:55 PM.

Have you studied selection bias? Statistical validity is kind of important when doing survey based research.

My point being, asking a bunch of generally avalanche savvy, rabid ski enthusiasts is likely to get you a skewed response on the effectiveness of avie bulletins.

Maybe you should be at the trailhead handing out surveys and pencils. That will get you a broader selection of trail users.

Yes, I posted here on purpose, because of the fact that I knew this was a well established, knowledgable community with responses generally being educated and well thought out. With this data from TGR it will help me make important correlations between experience and backcountry knowledge and others. I will also be within the Ravine handing out surveys.

Quote Originally Posted by ctw55 View Post
    Yes, I posted here on purpose, because of the fact that I knew this was a well established, knowledgable community with responses generally being educated and well thought out.
    just wanted to save this statement for posterity...you'll want to see it after you hit 100 posts or more