Waders - What would you do?

First post here, mainly stay over in the ski section...but a recent trip to the fly show up in Lynnwood last month really got me itching to fish more than I have been.

Anyways, what should I get for a cheap wader setup? I'm planning on hitting smaller PNW streams and creeks (not too much steelhead fishing unless something changes) and some Puget Sound. All other trout fishing will be done in conjunction with backpacking trips where waders will not be on hand.

What benefit (or lack thereof) do you get with Neoprene vs. "breathable" style? I have never used waders before so be easy on me...

Neoprene shouldn't even be in the question unless you enjoy the sensation of being a sweaty sardine in a can. Lot's of good affordable options out therefrom the likes of Redington, Orvis, etc.

cheap waders?

check out cabela's - pretty good pricing, not bad product - they'll serve you well for the first couple years (then you'll want to upgrade to something more durable)

http://www.cabelas.com/product/Footw...F103926780.uts

You do not need to break the bank, a fancy pair of waders never caught a fish on its own.

That said, if you will be fishing in anything but ice filled waters I would go "breathable", you get what you pay for with "breathable" waders but there are good deals on many products out there, especially old stock. Neoprene can make you feel like a clammy trapped foetus if you are doing any hiking.

An excellent warranty and return policy is always preferred so I would focus on brands with a history of good customer service, as every brand will eventually leak with regular use.

I'd look at Simms, Patagonia or Redington, and don't forget to check your fishing regulations for which boot sole you are allowed to fish, rubber sole is the new norm for many systems.

A quick search found these
    http://www.sierratradingpost.com/s~waders/