Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Kitten Factory ad in RH Nav Bar-Who are You?

So, you placed an ad here. You must figure you got something. What ya got? Who are you? Why are you on TGR? Lots of carbon in your line but carbon kinda sucks in crud unless really well balanced with other materials. Not looking for spam. But, you might want to give Slaagmaster a pro deal.
    Sometimes pride comes after a fall.

Hey guys. I'm Kyle Alexander, one of the owners of Kitten Factory. I'm a very frequent lurker of tech talk and the Wasatch conditions threads, but don't post very much.

A little background on the company. My partners and I have been building skis and boards as a hobby for the last seven years while attending school at the University of Utah and even before that in our high school days. Calvin Hawley, Norman Butler and myself graduated from the engineering program from the U a few years ago and have been working in the engineering industry for the last several years to save some money to turn our hobby into a business. Jeff Scott, our other partner,who handles all of our website, graphics, and photos graduated from the U with both a business and communications degrees. I'm the only full time KF employee currently. Everyone else still works full time jobs so we can pay our rent and eat, and hopefully can come on full time next year.

Now a little bit about our skis. Yes, we like carbon. Yes, they can handle crud better than any other carbon ski. We did not set out to make the lightest ski possible. We tried to make the best skis possible. All of our materials in our carbon skis are the same as our fiberglass skis, we just replace the fiberglass with carbon. They still have thick bases and edges, durable UHMW sidewalls, full length wood cores. They are also much stiffer than a carbon ski like a DPS for example and generally have less sidecut, because we like to ski fast.