Thread: Hernia?

Hernia?

About a decade ago a doctor told me I had a small hernia. "No worries, if it doesn't bother you, don't worry about it." It didn't, so I didn't. A few years ago when I had my appendectomy, the doctor says "Do you know you have two small hernias?" Again, no discomfort/pain so I shrugged it off.

Over the last few years, maybe a handful of times a year I would get quick knot, discomfort in my abdomen basically where the appendectomy incision was. I at first thought it had something to do with that surgery but now it is just too far gone to believe that. I started lifting again and now I am getting the discomfort daily. It never happens when working out, usually going from sitting to standing and vise versa and not every time. No real pain, just a very weird feeling of discomfort and "tightness?"

So... does this sound like this is from one of the hernias and it is getting worse?

Am I doing any harm to myself by continuing my routine before seeing a doctor? Reason being, I have a HDHP insurance plan and if I need surgery, I want to get on a regular plan prior to. Issue is, open enrollment isn't until November at work. I can totally live with the discomfort for a few months and would rather not stop lifting. I am just concerned with causing damage that will either do long-term damage or would make recovery ridiculously long.

Thanks for the internet prognosis, you guys probably saved my life with my appendectomy.
    Brought to you by Carl's Jr.

Do you have any lumps or protrusions in your crotch (serious question). If any have popped up, your hernia(s) got a lot worse.

Quit lifting until you get that thing straightened out. If it is a hernia and you keep straining, you may make it go from mild to severe. If you do need surgery, you need to do a serious critique of your lifting and breathing form while lifting.