Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    On a genuine ol' fashioned authentic steam powered aereoplane

Gym training for MTB racing?

I plan to do 4-6 races this spring and summer starting in late March. I just joined a gym for the first time in 10 years. I plan to be on my bike (mtb and road) at least 6 hours per week, but with work it will be easier to hit the gym most days.

Where can I find a good workout regimen to increase strength, endurance, cardio, etc.

Basically, I am a complete gym noob and don't want to start out too hard and wreck my muscles, etc. Not looking to build mass, more looking to lose my little beer gut that just won't die with diet and bike riding alone.

I don't do much gym stuff, but I know that pinkbike has had a few personal trainers come up with bike workouts.

search through these a bit

http://www.pinkbike.com/news/health-fitness/

overall anything that helps with cardio will be beneficial, as will working core and legs

Gyms are where you go to meet, or just stare at, hot ass.

I ride with a guy that wears an oxygen restrictor while doing his routine. Too hard core for me.

I'm so hardcore, I'm gnarcore.

There was an article with some videos of workouts to do in the off season on pinkbike not to long ago.

WG- you racing the enduros in the area?
    "The riding never stops" Craig Kelly

I don't have a set schedule of races yet. I think I will check out some short track races in the spring, whatever else in the 20ish mile range in NJ/PA, Mooch Madness again (it was 26 miles last summer and I finished 7th in the sport category with no training. They are supposedly doing 50 miles this year , and the Mountain Creek enduro.

I mean, I basically have an enduro bike anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by Particle View Post
    this. x1000. it's a very good resource.

some quick thoughts:
    1. when starting out, focus on form. don't increase your weight unless you did it with perfect form. this will keep you healthy.
    2. see 1.