Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Be gentle, total newb with some questions (WA state).

So i recently (arrived sunday) moved to WA state from Vermont. For years fly fishing has been one of those "I'd like to try that sometime" things for me, now that i live spitting distance from the Nooksack river in maple falls I feel like i'd be stupid not to give this a try.

So.. where do I start? Rod? reel? flys? things to read? people to know? spots to fish (or try)? I've really got no clue. Is this something you can teach youself, or should I try and find someone to hold my hand on this?

thanks in advance for any help

You can count on people actually being helpful in this forum.

I don't know the rivers and have only been steelheading in WA but a decent 4wt or 6wt set up for trout should do and an 8wt for steelhead if you go that route...spey if you really get the itch. In WA, I'd make friends with people who know the water. Many of the rivers close to the coast only harbor small resident trout to my knowledge but I am prolly not in the know....again, leading me to advise making friends at a local shop or with somebody here who knows their shit.

I can say, as you move east in your new state you will encounter some good trout water. There are also, surprisingly, some decent bass fisheries in the middle of the state too. OR hosts some great fishing....

Get into salmon and steelies....trout will be a bonus.

Congrats on your move. I am sure you are looking forward to ski season already. As far as fishing in the area I dont have any knowledge. I would find a local shop and buy some gear as described above. Some shops will include a casting lesson when you purchase new gear. That would be a big help getting started. You can kind of compare a fly shop relationship to the kind you might have with a local ski shop. Of course my fly shop closed last year and the nearest one in 30 minutes away.
    A woman reported to police at 6:30 p.m. that she was being "smart-mouthed."