Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question for the SLC parent types

What's the word on SLC public schools? Particular school districts to target or to avoid?

Preferably, we'd be talking about SLC proper (somewhere near the U of U).

I'm new to the whole offspring thing, so I have no idea how to figure this out on my own.
    Youth is wasted on the young

I won't put my kid in public school anywhere around SLC. Private or Charter school is the only way we are going.

We have our reasons but I don't feel this is the best place to air them.

Not in SLC, but here's a web site that I've used a fair amount for school information: http://www.greatschools.net.

And, the SLC page: http://www.greatschools.net/city/Salt_Lake_City/UT. 5 on a scale of 10 (based on test scores) doesn't seem too good.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tippster View Post
    Sometimes I think you guys are some of the smartest people on the web, other times I wonder if you were shaken as babies.

Quote Originally Posted by Buzzworthy View Post
    I won't put my kid in public school anywhere around SLC. Private or Charter school is the only way we are going.

We have our reasons but I don't feel this is the best place to air them.
    I grew up in SLC. I went to public school every year.

I think I turned out pretty damn good, however I can see some of where you're coming from, but I wouldn't say I'd never put my kid in public school in SLC.
    you sketchy character, you

Although Utah ranks better than the national average on standardized tests, I don't feel like the public school system in Utah is that great, at least compared to the schools where I was raised. That being said, private school is not an option for my family.

In general, like anywhere else, the wealthier the schools population, the better the level of education.

I remember a discussion I had with a colleague when I was living in Utah-

"What do you mean it is legal to teach evolution in other states?"