Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

NH wedding location advice

So, the future Ms. Shred and I are going to be tying the knot soon. Probably May, probably in NH. We both have some connections to NH and our families are in the area. We're both fond of the Whites. We've looked into the Mt. Washington Hotel. It seems expensive, but it's obviously a great facility and they seem competent to handle the bar and food. Anything that makes planning this less complicated is obviously good. Plus, I'm an economist and have economist buddies who would get a kick out of it. Joe Dodge Lodge looks nice, but it doesn't have a big space for a large group. The Highland Center at Carter Notch looks good, but we don't have any special attachment to it.

If it were up to us, we would get married somewhere much more gnar, but we need to accommodate our (large) families. So I think it has to be somewhere covered from the weather (probably inside) convenient to roads and places to stay.

So ... any suggestions on any place we should look into?

I just got married last July. We had been considering either NH or VT, with the Mount Washington Hotel being high on the NH list. We ended up deciding against it because of it's remoteness. We wanted to have options for people to stay in less expensive places than where the ceremony way, but still be close enough to stumble home at the end of the night. With a 1/2 hr drive to N. Conway and not too much in-between, we decided it just wasn't going to work. Ended up having it at the Stoweflake, and couldn't have been happier. Just some food for thought... and congrats!

Eagle Mtn House or The Wentworth in Jackson. $ort of expensive. Would guess cheaper the the Mt. Washington Hotel.

I've done a a number of large functions at the MWH and they do a good job. Their new conference center is quite nice. May can be a little dicey as the seasonal help are just getting their sea legs (trays get dropped, etc.)