Snowboarding with torn ACL

The following words are either very common, too long, or too short and were not included in your search : snowboard, acl. So here it goes...

Tore my ACL last season. Probable partial in late February but was back on my feet after a couple of weeks so didn't get an actual diagnosis. Did it again in July from an 8ft fall bouldering. Same mechanism of injury, but definitely worse the second time, got an MRI and my ACL's torn. Insurance is dragging their ass so surgery will probably be around November.

In case we get some good early season snow, and for later in the season when I'm out and about again but not fully recovered, I'm wondering if I'd be OK to go snowboarding instead of skiing. I normally ski, but have snowboarded a few times and picked it up pretty quick. It's not my preferred method of sliding on snow but I'd rather get out there on a board and not injure myself further than go ski and make it worse. I'm still fairly new to it so I'd probably have the occasional "beginner" style fall, but I'd definitely be taking it a lot easier that I would on skis. I have a hard time "taking it easy" when I ski, so that's a less than ideal solution. Anyone have some experience with this, I'm not sure I've heard of people injuring their ACL snowboarding so I'm wondering if it might be a safer substitute for the time being. Thanks!

I do both skiing and snowboarding. Not exactly your situation, but coming back from ACL surgery I found snowboarding much harder on my bad knee than skiing, though I think it might have been more from stiffness than a weak ACL.

Sheppy and I did our ACLs about the same time and I had an easier time getting back on my snowboard. Hurt less so our experiences differed.

BUT, I snowboarded the last 12+ years almost exclusively and lost a lot of my skiing ability (dumb I know, going back to skiing now).

Your largest problem is not hurting the ACL IMHO, it is hyper extension.