Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Scarpa F3 impressions, anyone?

Anybody been skiing & touring on F3's? I pondering getting a pair for longer tours (e.g., Spearhead, Wapta), spring tours (e.g., Birthday Tour, Fortune loop) and lower angle midwinter tours. I'll be on Karhu Jak BC (90mm waist, soft tail) and Dynafits (of course). Currently skiing on Spirit 3's with all my skis (Mantras, Shamans, JakBC). Spirit 3's are great for skiing, but I'd like a to add a real touring boot to the quiver for more comfy touring/walking/scrambling. I've been tellying for 17 years before switching to AT gear last spring, so I'm accustomed to using some effort to turn. Garmonts & Dynafits don't fit my foot.

Lest you flame me -- yes, I checked out Lee Lau's generally negative comments re the F3 at http://www.tetongravity.com/forums/s...d.php?t=106848 and the raves re the F3 from Lou Dawson and Andrew McLean at http://www.wildsnow.com/?p=1042

Thanks
    Last edited by Big Steve; 03-05-2008 at 11:35 AM.

I have F1s (which are supposed to be similar to the F3 in flex) and they are fine in perfect snow. When you get thrown foward and back at all, such as in anthing other than perfect powder or corn, the boot is to soft and I ski like a gumby. The F1s only felt marginally better than making parallel turns on my circa 1998 T2's. I am keeping my F1's, but mostly for meadow skipping. I won't take them anytime I expect to be challenged.

Lou and Andrew have been skiing for ages so I am guessing they have both the finesse style and experience with soft boots (from back when all AT boots were soft) to pull off the F3.

BTW, I have a Trab/Comfort/F3 (F1) Shim set up for sale on Gear Swap that would go great with you new F3 and shave about two pounds off your Jak set up.

Quote Originally Posted by harpo-the-skier View Post