TR: Sugarloaf Mtn. (MI, not ME). Feb 21, 2008

So this TR will contain neither sick pow or huge hucks. I just figured I've been posting on and off for a few years, and have provided no proof that my feet have ever touched snow. So here it is.

I hiked the long defunct Sugarloaf Mountain in good old Northern Michigan. Nobody had the balls to do it with me except my 5 year old Lab who has been severely under-exercised since I've been away at school.

Weather was about 26 degrees, scattered to broken clouds, and no wind. I'm not gonna lie, the snow sucked. It hadn't snowed for a few days, and it was pretty well wind and sun packed -- not to mention the damn snow-mo-scooters.

Disclaimer: Sugarloaf is private property. Anyone thinking this is a good idea, please get proper permission before hiking. If you can't figure out how, PM me.

The entrance...a whopping 500 ft of vert.

The "I'm worn out, I'm taking a damn break" shot.

Ranger, in hot pursuit of the oh-so-elusive Michigan Snow Snake.

Buzzing the tower.

And heading up the underbrush removal crew. By the way - Sugarloaf went out of business in the first place because they were paying employees with Milk-Bones and Beggin' Strips. Looks like the plan is starting to work out.

Ok, enough dog pictures. Now the scenic ones.

North facing, Good Harbor Bay.

Lime Lake

Little Traverse Lake

And the "action" shots.

Run 1, on "Wall". Ranger might have smoked my ass on the way up, but he sure had a rough time keeping up on the way down.

Sugarloaf's only chute -- or maybe couloir?

And lastly, what used to be the steepest run under the bridge. Passionately known as "Awful, Awful".

That's it. I'll try to find something a little more "stoke" for the next one.

Quote Originally Posted by Blizzard7763 View Post

I'll try to find something a little more "stoke" for the next one.
    I don't know about you, but a chute full of slaplings is the only STOKE I need!